Top Ten Tuesday: Series I Have YET to Finish

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

This is my first ever Top Ten Tuesday Post and I’m super excited! And now, the ten series that I haven’t finished yet are divided into two categories: series I intend to finish and series I do not intend to finish.

Series I Intend To Finish

cover2Millenium series by Stieg Larsson. I borrowed my mom’s books because I was very intrigued by the story of the series. So far I have only read the first two books out of the three. (although after further research I found out that there are four books now? I don’t know?) The first book, The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, for me was remarkable. I loved it, I love the whole mystery/crime/thriller genre and the whole tone of the book. The second book for me wasn’t that good and it crushed the fire within me that wanted to complete the series.
But yes, I do plan on finishing the series sooner or later.

cover3Divergent series by Veronica Roth. This is the same case as the Millenium series for me: I quite liked the first book, but the second book was not that good that I didn’t feel compelled to read the third one. Which was a shame because I really am quite interested to see what happens next. I liked the whole idea and the series itself, and a lot of people have recommended the series to me for years, not to mention the hype it has in its genre.
So for this I really do want to finish the series soon.

cover4The Maze Runner trilogy by James Dashner. Again, this is a series that I stopped reading after the second book. I really enjoyed the first book – not as much as I enjoyed Divergent or The Knife of Never Letting Go, but quite enough to continue to the second book, although I waited for quite a while to actually read the second one. And I was frankly very disappointed with The Scorch Trials. It was filled with action, it was fast paced, and made me glued to the pages, but the plot didn’t give any affect to the whole series, the characters felt very bland to me, and the whole story turned to a path that I didn’t particularly enjoy. I also didn’t really like the writing style. I thought the hype surrounding this book was a little too much.

And so I was reluctant to read the third book. But I will finish it because again, so many people recommend it to me and I still have some hope for the whole series.

The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series by Michael Scott. This is a series a good friend of mine recommended highly to me and so I really gave it a try. The first time I read the books was around 4 years ago and I did like it, but I only reached the second book and didn’t continue. This year I tried reading it again from the beginning, and I found out that I really do like the first two books. It was very interesting for me, and the characters really gripped me.
And I’m super excited to continue the series, I just don’t have the time yet.

cover5Gemma Doyle series by Libba Bray. I read A Great and Terrible Beauty, the firs book, when I was 12 and I rated it two stars because I didn’t like it. The only reason why I picked it up in the first place was because I was super attracted to its title and cover (I mean, how beautiful does the title sound??). I don’t really remember much about the book but I think what I dislike about the book was the plot.
And lately I’ve heard from many people that a lot of Libba Bray books are great, and I’ve started rethinking about my decision not to give this series another chance. I might want to continue the series or at least reread the first book to see how I like it.

Next, moving on to the Series I Don’t Intend to Finish. Now this might be quite harsh but there are those series that when looking back right now, I have lost interest entirely or thought that it’s not worth the time, money or effort to continue.

Series I Don’t Intend to Finish

Forest of Hands and Teeth series by Carrie Ryan. I read this a long, long time ago, when I was in the mood for some zombie apocalypse book. And I really do like the whole idea of the series, I love zombies and I quite liked the first book. I also read the second book but it was a huge blur for me – maybe because I read it such a long time ago or because it just didn’t leave a very strong impression on me.
And so I abandoned the series and even if I do want to continue it, I’d have to reread the first two books to refresh my memory and I have not intention to do that. Sorry Carrie Ryan, I will not be finishing this series.

cover6Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld. This was another book I tried because of the hype surrounding it and at that time it was huge and I was obsessed with it. Well, not anymore. I actually read it twice, the first time was when I was around 11 and at that time, I loved every single book I read. The second time, two years later, I reread it because I wanted to continue the series and read the second book. This was when I realized what a huge flop this book is. I did read the second one though, and I guess I don’t remember much about the second one which means that it wasn’t that memorable.
So I never even thought of continuing the series since then.

Book of Ember series by Jeanne DuPrau. I’ve only read the first two books of the series, and I actually really liked the first one. It was original, very interesting, and one of the first dystopian books I read. The second one was okay, and maybe if I give it a try I would’ve liked it and might continue the series.
But I don’t really know why, I kind of lost interest on the series as time goes by. Maybe because the series was meant for a younger audience and I sort of grew out of it, or just because I wasn’t interested in the genre anymore.

The Giver quartet by Lois Lowry. I’ve only read the first book of this series, and it actually happened by random. I borrowed the book from my school library when I was around 15 and I didn’t expect much from it. I was really impressed and the book really did give a strong impression to me. But it didn’t make me want to read the next series and after watching the not-very-good movie adaptation, I kind of lost interest.

cover7Hex Hall series by Rachel Hawkins. For this series I’ve only read the first book, and I read it five years ago so I wasn’t very critical when reading it. I don’t really remember much about the series, other than the fact that thinking back about it right now, it wasn’t a very original or sophisticated series. Everything was uninteresting for me looking at it today, I just didn’t understand why my 12 year old self would like it.
But the main thing is that I don’t think this will become a good series and I don’t plan on reading the rest of the books in the series ever.

cover8Wicked Lovely series by Melissa Marr. I don’t understand why but I think when I was 12 I tried exploring different series and abandoning them after the first book. This was yet another example of that. The genre itself is right around my alley, I love paranormal YA books.
But it was a little too romance-y for me and even from the start I didn’t really enjoy the book, so this will become another one of the series I have abandoned after only the first book. Sorry!

Well, what do you guys think? What are your top ten series you haven’t finished yet? Are any of those series you never intend to finish? Did you agree with my list? Are there series you liked that you think I should give a try again? Let me know down below on the comments, don’t be shy.

11 comments

  1. We do have a lot of similar ones! A Great and Terrible Beauty was good, and I’m tempted to finish the trilogy, but I’ve just heard so many negative things about book three!

    Like

  2. Yes, I’ve heard a lot of good things about Diviners, but hearing your thoughts about the Gemma Doyle series I’m now having second thoughts on continuing the series? But I might give it a try anyways, just to find out myself…

    Like

  3. Libba Bray’s Diviners series is FANTASTIC if you are okay with spooky ghosts and horror elements, so all those friends telling you she is great aren’t lying, though the Gemma Doyle books were the exception to the rule. I hated the characters and the plot.

    Like

  4. I enjoyed Uglies. My Mom actually was the one who gave it to me. It was okay, and I finished the series, but not that great. I keep telling her she needs to read The Hunger Games or Daughter of Smoke and Bone or some other really fantastic YA novel and not a three-star one, ’cause I think she’d be pretty surprised how much she enjoyed it.

    And I keep hearing about how The Scorch Trials is better than the Maze Runner. I feel kind of like I’m a bad bookworm for reading it because I want to see the movie, though, especially since I’m not sure if I would have read it otherwise, since I thought The Maze Runner was only okay.

    Thanks for stopping by Writing on a Vintage Typewriter!

    Like

    1. I asked my mom to read The Hunger Games too and she kind of liked it. But I guess YA is not her thing. But over the years she has recommended a lot of good books for me 🙂
      Yeah I feel the same way for the Maze Runner series, there was so much hype that I just thought oh well might as well give it a try. I’m still looking forward to reading the last book.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I sometimes get swept up in the hype surrounding a new or popular series, only to drop it after the first book. That’s how I felt about the Divergent books – when the first movie came out I really like I should give the series a go, but it just didn’t hook me enough to want to finish the series. I’ve just got too many books in my to-read pile to read! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

