August Wrap Up

wrapup2

Hi everyone, how has your month been? August for me has been quite productive! I spent the first half of the month at home and doing pretty much nothing and so I read quite a lot of books. And the second half of the month I spent moving to another country and settling in but I also had time to read a lot while I was traveling and all.

cover9The first book I read was Mata Yang Enak Dipandang by Ahmad Tohari. This is a collection of short stories written by a very famous author in Indonesia. His stories mostly involve topics about the economy and social status of lower level citizens in Indonesia at that time. It’s beautiful and I absolutely love the cover of the book.

3 stars

The second book I read was The Tales of Beedle the Bard by JK Rowling. Now this was a reread because the last time I read this book was when I first bought it, which was around 6 years ago, and I didn’t like it but it was probably because I was 11 years old then. But now that I reread it I realized how great the stories were. I loved the short comments by Dumbledore and how some of the short stories remind me of our Muggle tales but with more magic.

4 stars

cover10Next I read The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman, which is my second book I read by him, the first one being Coraline. It’s a fantasy slash young adult book about a middle aged man coming back to his childhood home and remembering a very memorable event in his childhood.
This was quite different from Coraline but it was still as captivating and wonderful. Not to mention writing style was wonderful. Story-wise, I was a little weirded out at first with the whole fantasy different world thing but the scenes were exciting and the dialogues were great. Even so, I didn’t really feel like it was an amazing book and it didn’t really touch me anywhere, it didn’t make me feel mindblown or anything like that

4 stars

The fourth book I read in August was The Andromeda Strain by Michael Crichton. This is probably Michael Crichton’s most famous book after Jurassic Park and it’s about a bacteria or a pathogen coming from outer space that invades the earth and a group of scientists try to solve the mystery of the strain and find a cure.
This book was amazing, and it’s right up my alley. I love these kind of books and I have always loved Crichton (I’ve read around four of his books and I loved most of them very deeply). I love the sci-fi-ness of the whole story, and the amount of biology in it makes my heart swell with happiness because I am such a biology freak. Other than that, the characters weren’t very memorable for me but the plot and the idea itself was glorious.

4 stars

cover1After that I read Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden. I know this is quite a very famous book and almost everybody knows it but I have never read it before and so I finally decided to. I won’t write down much about it here because I have made a review about the book before and you can read my full thoughts on the book there.

4 stars

Next is my sixth and seventh book of the month, which was The Knife of Never Letting Go and The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness. It’s the first two books from the trilogy called Chaos Walking. Now this is my first book I read from him and I’ve heard a lot of good things about him and his novels but I really didn’t know what to expect from this book/series. And I must say I didn’t expect much but man do I really love the first book. The idea itself was marvellous and it was quite different from any other dystopian novels.
I must say, this book and series lived up to its potential and I love its characters and its plot so much. It was a page-turner, it was fast-paced, it was filled with a lot of action and it has enough mystery to keep us glue to the pages and I love it. I also like Todd and how his character has developed a lot throughout the two first books. And even though the second book wasn’t as amazing and mind-blowing as the first one, I will definitely start the third book soon. Look out for a post of more of my thoughts on this book and the whole trilogy soon.

5 stars & 3 stars

Alright, now moving on to the books I plan to read in September:

I bought two books this month, The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt which I have started reading, and Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman by Haruki Murakami which will become the first book by Murakami I’ve read (once I actually read it).

Alongside those two books, I also plan on reading Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness which is the third and final book of the Chaos Walking Trilogy, and I’m also thinking of reading either The Martian by Andy Weir or The Song of Achilles by Madeleine Miller this month. Hope I can read all these books and more!

So, as a wrap:

  • I read seven books this month
  • With an average of 3.8 stars out of 5
  • Three of them are ebooks
  • One of them was a hardback and the rest are paperbacks
  • The best book I read this month was The Knife of Never Letting Go
  • In total I read 2,076 pages with an average of 296.5 pages per book

What about you? How many books did you read this month and which one is your favourite? Have you read any of the books I will read next month? If so, maybe share what you think about it on the comments below.

6 comments

Leave a Comment

