Book Review: The Alchemist

I’m pretty sure all of you know what book I’m currently talking about. It’s one of the most famous and most read books ever, and I finally decided to give it a try because I was curious about why so many people loved it.

Title: The Alchemist
Author: Paulo Coelho
Publisher: Harper Collins
Date Published: April 5th 2006
Num of pages: 167
Date read: June 14th 2015

The Alchemist is a Fantasy/Spiritual/Inspirational novel about a man named Santiago who was a shepherd and his journey to find himself and to achieve his dreams in life.

And, to be honest, and please don’t get mad at me for saying this and for anything I said in this whole review, I was quite disappointed about this book. I suppose I kind of understand why the book got so many praises, it was inspiring and all that.

cover11

But…….. I didn’t like the book and the story itself. The thing that bugged me most was probably the writing style. It was weird and it also made the story a little boring. Not to mention, the plot wasn’t as interesting as I thought it would be. There were no strong emotions and the experiences that the characters had didn’t make me feel close to the character at all. Other parts such as the insta love between the main character and the girl also just irks me.

And even though I do admit it was quite inspiring and all, the whole fantasy aspect of the story and parts in the book that didn’t make sense at all didn’t really fit to the story itself. The idea that “anything can happen if you hope about it really hard”, reminds me a lot of The Secret and to be honest I’d prefer reading The Secret than this one. It just felt a little strange for me, all the things that happened to the character.

Around the end I had mixed feelings, wondering why did so many people like and recommend this book while in my opinion it’s not that good at all?

And worse of all, it didn’t really make me feel anything, it didn’t make me feel enlightened or changed or empowered to make a change in my life or pursue my dreams or anything like that, I just finished the last chapter and sat there like meh. And I still don’t understand why people like it so much!

So sorry for anyone who adores it, of course everyone is entitled to their own opinions and I’m just stating my own. And to conclude this review, I gave this book two out of five stars (seriously considered giving the book one star only but at least I finished the book), and I don’t think I’ll be picking up any more Paulo Coelho books in the future. Sorry, his writing is just not my style.

What about you? Have you read The Alchemist or other books by Paulo Coelho and what did you guys think about it? Let me know in the comments if you agree or disagree with me.
2 starsbookreview

7 comments

  1. Hey, I recommend reading “By the river Piedra I sat down and wept” by Paulo Coelho. If you on hunt of some great lines, this book is the one to look for. The story is somewhat on the lines of “The Alchemist”, but I’m sure you’ll enjoy this one, as its based not on spiritual fulfillment, but love!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have never read this book but I have heard so many positive opinions about it. I think that sometimes people overpraise some books because of well known author and they do not want to be those who get out of line.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Totally true. I thibk you should go for it and read it so you can see if it’s your kind of book! If so then you’ll have more books by him to read and I’m very happy for you.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. The problem for me wasn’t how it was too preachy but how the story didn’t fit with the point of the story. But everyone has their own preferences, maybe you’d like it like a lot of other people do 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

