Top Ten Tuesdays: Books I Wish I Read as a Kid

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

I can’t believe it’s already Tuesday again! For this Top Ten Tuesday, we were free to choose a topic of our own, so I browsed through the previous Top Ten Tuesdays and chose this topic, which has been a topic a while ago. Well then, let’s start with the list!

Anything by Dr Seuss. I was really sad to admit that I’ve never read a Dr Seuss book until now. His books are one of the most famous children’s books of all time and I regretted that my parents never read them to me or bought them. I suppose it’s because his books weren’t very popular in my country Indonesia but I still thought that my childhood might be a little better if I’ve had read some of his books when I was young.

cover14Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan. This book is intended for younger readers, mainly middle grade children, and even though the first time I read the series was when I was in middle grade, I still wished I could read it earlier. I was a little too old to read them now, but I still loved it, and I know I would love it as well if I had read the series when I was 9 or 10 years old.

Where The Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak. This is one of the many children’s book I didn’t read when I was a child yet I read when I was older. Again, I blame my parents for not giving me this book.

The Madeline series by Ludwig Bemelmans. When I was a child I really liked the TV series of this book, but I never really read the books. Which was a shame because I knew I would’ve loved it, I really like these kinds of stories.

The Little Prince. Yet again another book I have never read until now. And I do want to read it, I just don’t have the time and the book itself. Also with the movie coming up, there’s a whole new generation reading the book, which is wonderful and I’m just quite sad that I wasn’t part of it when I was younger.

cover15The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien. I read The Hobbit when I was 15 or something. And while reading it I just kept thinking how it’s so simple and perfect for children. I wished I had the book when I was younger, maybe in middle grade.

Secret Seven series by Enid Blyton. I adored Enid Blyton books when I was younger. I collected all of her Famous Five series and her Naughtiest Girl series and I still have them until now. But it’s so weird that I never really read the Secret Seven series. I did have two or three books of the series but I never really read the whole series and I really want to.

The Paddington books. This seem like such lovely books, it’s cute and adorable and fun and I’m pretty sure my younger self would’ve loved it. Unfortunately, once again, I was never exposed to books from outside the country when I was really young, therefore I didn’t get the chance to read them.

cover16Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lindgren. I have read this book before but I read it when I was way too old to really enjoy it. Yes I did like it, but I was pretty sure I would’ve really loved it and it would’ve really improved my reading skills when I had read it when I was younger.

The Tale of Peter Rabbit by Beatrix Potter. I remember owning a book by Beatrix Potter, only one, and I really liked it so much but I knew that at that time I was way too old to enjoy the super simple story. I wish I’d read these stories when I was like really really young, maybe even before school, because the stories are really adorable and so are the illustrations.

cover17

So, basically this post all about regrets and mostly blaming my parents for not buying me these books. But I did have a wonderful collection of books I read when I was a child, and I do think that children books are really important to shape a child’s life and future, from their reading skills to their imagination.

What about you? What were your favourite books as a child and which books on this list have you read or haven’t read? Let me know in the comments 🙂

12 comments

  1. This post makes me nostalgic for my childhood books. I adored Peter Rabbit, and I even had a tea set with Peter Rabbit characters on it.

    I wish I had read the Percy Jackson series when I was younger. I actually just finished the first book earlier this week, and I really enjoyed it. I just feel like I would be more passionate about the series if I had grown up with it the same way I did with Harry Potter.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beatrix Potter was my fave!! I loved The Tale of Peter Rabbit ❤ I wish I read Pippi Longstocking and The Little Prince, too! They both sound like wonderful children's books 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I wish I had gotten into the Percy Jackson books too, but I think they started coming out when I was in high school. I’m not going to let that stop me though! I got the first one sitting my TBR right now.

    Like

  4. I wish I’d read more Roald Dahl and Astrid Lindgren, especially Ronia the Robber’s Daughter and The Brothers Lionheart. Those two were two of my favorite Lindgren movies so I wish I’d read the books too. I also agree about The Little Prince and Madeline.

    And The Tale of Peter Rabbit gives me such nostalgia, though I never read anything by her. I watched the tv show and the intro and outro gives me such chills, I had to look it up on youtube again *_* Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

