September Wrap Up

septemberwrapup

Welcome everyone to my monthly wrap up! This September has gone by so quickly, I spent a lot of time studying and starting my fist year at university so I might not be able to read that much but I did read some amazing books this month!

cover

The first book of the month that I finished was The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller. It was a beautifully written book about a famous Greek hero Achilles and his loving companion whom he cares about very much, Patroclus.
If you are interested to know more about my thoughts on the book, check out my review about the book here.

4 stars

Next, I read a super huge book that I bought for an expensive price (but I don’t care as long as I get to read the book) and I’ve been eyeing this book for a very long time and I was so excited to finally have it, and the book is The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt. This is a novel about a boy whose mother died in an explosion at a museum in New York and hid the famous painting The Goldfinch ever since. I loved this book so much, it’s so different from any other novels I’ve read, and although it’s quite lengthy I still had a wonderful time reading it.
Read my further thoughts on it on my review here.

4 stars

The third book I finished in September is Cinder by Marissa Meyer. Cinder is the first book in a series that is about a retelling of the fairytale Cinderella. But the unique part about this particular book is how the main character, Cinder, is a cyborg and lives in a futuristic world and it’s so very interesting. This book wasn’t my favourite book of the month but it’s quite an enjoyable read.
A review for this book will be coming up soon on my blog.

3 stars

The fourth book I read is Cell by Stephen King. This novel is about a father, Clay, experiencing a global phenomenon that happens to everyone that was using a cellphone, turning them into crazy killing zombies. And the story follows Clay’s journey to survive and also find his son without knowing if he is still alive. For this book, I rated it 2.5 out of 5 stars, because it wasn’t brilliant or amazing, but it was thrilling and I love all the gore in it. I didn’t really like the overall plot and by the middle of the book I was dying for it to finish but then the ending was so abrupt that I was like “That’s it???” which shows that King is really an excellent writer. But I just didn’t like some aspects of the book, and the main character didn’t really appeal to me, although some of the minor characters were quite interesting. So overall, it was an okay read.
Check out my (short) review for this book on my Goodreads.

3 stars

So, as a wrap for September:

  • I read four books this month
  • With an average of 3.5 stars out of 5
  • Two of them are ebooks
  • One of them was a paperback I bought in American Book Store
  • One of them was a paperback I borrowed at the library
  • The best book I read this month was The Goldfinch
  • In total I read 2,034 pages with an average of 508.5 pages per book
  • I wrote two book reviews on my blog this month
  • And posted 7 posts in total this month

And that is all for my wrap up this month! What about you? How many books did you read in September and what did you think about them? What do you think about the books I read this month? Don’t hesitate to let me know in the comments!

wrapup

Leave a Comment

