The TBR Book Tag

I was so pleasantly surprised to be tagged in this tag by Maria @ MarwhalReads, thank you so so much! And I don’t really have a huge TBR list because I only put books that I already own or books that I am really interested in reading, but it’s still a long list! Anyway, let’s get started!

#1. How do you keep track of your TBR pile?
Goodreads, of course! But I also have a wishlist for books that I really want to buy in my Book Depository account. But most of the books I want to read are listed on my Goodreads.

#2. Is your TBR mostly print or e-book?
Most of them are e-books that I put in my Nook – which contains around 50 books I haven’t read. But I also have several books that I’ve bought that I haven’t read yet or books in the library I’ve seen that I wanted to read, but most of them are e-books.

#3. How do you determine which book from your TBR to read next?
It really depends on my mood! For example, this month’s TBR consists of books that I am interested in from my uni’s library, but also consists of books that fit the weather and the spooky Halloween feel. So it really depends on how I feel. But mostly I plan the book I want to read next after finishing my current read in my head and have it all organized (I’m a weird organizing freak in that way).

#4. A book that’s been on your TBR the longest?
Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry, which is the second book of The Giver series. I read the first book a long time ago when I was in middle school and I really liked it, but I didn’t really have the urge to continue the series. It’s been on my TBR list on Goodreads since November 2011, which means it’s been there for almost 4 years! Wow, I really need to read that book.

cover1

#5. A book you recently added to your TBR?
Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella. I haven’t read any Sophie Kinsella books, but my friend just bought the book and I thought it sounded interesting, also it’s a stand alone and I’m currently not in the mood to start any series. Not to mention I’ve heard so many good things about it from the book community, so I added it on my TBR!cover2

#6. A book on your TBR strictly because of its beautiful cover?
I chose two books for this one, and they are: The Miniaturist by Jessie Burtonย and The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton. They’re on my Book Depository wishlist because they look so pretty and I don’t really know a hundred percent whether I will actually like these two books, but they look so beautiful and blue!

cover4ย ย cover3

#7. A book on your TBR that you never plan on reading?
I will say never say never for this situation, you never know what might happen, but one book that comes to mind is The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh. For the moment I don’t think I’m interested in reading this book, mainly because I’m kind of tired of fairytale retellings and also because I know it’s a series and as I said before, I’m not in the mood for reading any series for the moment. But this feeling might change in a month or a year! Who knows?

cover5

#8. An unpublished book on your TBR that you’re excited for?
Definitely this little gem over here! I started reading George RR Martin’s A Song of Fire series a little over a year ago and I immediately fell in love with it! I can’t wait for The Winds of Winter, I’m sure it’ll be as epic and heartwrenching as the other books in the series. I’m just so invested in the characters and places of the world that I just cannot let this series go. There is also another book of a series that I’m super excited for, which is The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater! I’ve been following the series ever since it first came out and I can’t wait for the last book to come out. It’s usually released around this time of the year but apparently this last book’s release date has been pushed back for next year. Oh well, more waiting…

#9. A book on your TBR that everyone has read but you?
I’m super ashamed to say that I haven’t read any Rainbow Rowell books! It’s not that I don’t find them interesting, I’ve had Eleanor and Park in my TBR for months, I just haven’t got the time or push to buy or read it! Hopefully soon, though…

cover6

#10. A book on your TBR that everyone recommends to you?
For this one I picked Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman by Haruki Murakami. Again, another famous author that my friends love but I never read! I really want to read Murakami’s books, and I’m hoping to do that soon. Wait, that’s what I say about all my books in my TBR list…

cover7

#11. A book on your TBR that you’re dying to read?
That would be Emma by Jane Austen! I just recently bought a copy of this book secondhand for a good price and since then it’s been sitting on my small pile of books I haven’t read, waiting for me to pick it up and read it. And I have been wanting to read more Austen ever since I read Pride and Prejudice around three months ago, so Emma sounds like a wonderful place to continue.

cover8

#12. How many books are in your Goodreads TBR shelf?
The number of books in my TBR shelf is 87! Not bad at all, last year I had more books but I started trying to lower the count into something more reasonable and 87 seem like a huge number but I’m slowly but surely lowering the number again!

That is all for the To-Be-Read Book Tag! This was super fun, it really makes me want to go to my TBR shelf and read more books! Hope you all enjoy my thoughts and the list of books, let me know what you think about the books I plan on reading and your own books in your TBR shelf!

For the people I tagged below, I tag you to do this TBR tag! You don’t have to do it if you don’t want to though ๐Ÿ˜‰

booktags

16 comments

  1. Thanks for tagging me! 87 books! That’s good. It’s the lowest number I’ve seen on these tags.
    Yep, I’m waiting on that GRRM book too. I hope he surprises us and publish it soon…like tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I know it’s a very low number, I try to keep it that way. Ugh I can’t wait for Winds of Winter!! Fingers crossed GRRM publishes it tomorrow hahaha ๐Ÿ˜‚

      Like

  2. ‘The Miniaturist’ and ‘The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender’ both have the prettiest covers!! I almost want them just for for display purposes, but I’m trying to only buy books I know I’ll really like right now haha. I’ve never read ‘Emma’ but I know a lot of Austen fanatics think ‘Emma’ is her best work. I recommend ‘Persuasion’!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. what a fun idea. you’ve made a good choice with The Miniaturist. The pages of the hard copy are all edged in a wonderful colour blue and has a blue ribbon to mark where you are when reading. The paperback has a velvety feel to the paper. And thats before you even get to read this wonderful novel

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh my gosh I have so many thoughts. Okay 1. The Giver is one of my absolute favorite books, but I haven’t read Gathering Blue because I’m afraid it won’t be nearly so good. 2. Sophie Kinsella is great, all of her books are really fun and witty! 3. I bought The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavendar because the cover is, truly, GORGEOUS as well, but I haaaated it. I have heard a lot of people love it though, so I hope you like it more than I did!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow we have the same thoughts on these books! I’m really looking forward to reading Finding Audrey, so many people have said it’s good! And I’m sorry you didn’t like Ava Lavender, the cover was so pretty ๐Ÿ˜ฆ why did you hate the book?

      Like

      1. I haven’t read that one but I’ve heard it’s good too! Ava was really, really depressing book and I think I wasn’t expecting it? Plus it’s one of those books where really weird impossible things happen in a totally normal world and there’s no explanation for them and I can’t get on board with that haha

        Like

  5. I have no idea what The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender is about either, but I also have it on my TBR because I’ve heard it’s such a beautiful book and the cover is so stunning too! Thank you for tagging me! I’ve done this tag before here though, check it out if you want ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

