Top Ten Tuesday: Gothic/Thriller Books I Have (or Want to) Read

Oh gosh it’s been forever since I’ve had a Top Ten Tuesday. This weekly meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish and this week’s meme is about the top 10 Halloween reads! Now I don’t read that much horror or scary books but gothic books are really interesting. According to Wikipedia, Gothic fiction, which is largely known by the subgenre of Gothic horror, is a genre or mode of literature that combines fiction, horror, death and Romanticism. And I haven’t read that many gothic novels either, but here are my top ten gothic and also thriller books I have read, or want to read soon.

feather4

cover1#1. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
Surely everyone knows this book, and you all must know how much I love this book. Jane Eyre is probably my most favourite classic novel ever and if you look to its Goodreads page its main genres are classics and romance, but it is also a gothic book. This piece of literature is probably sorted into gothic because of the setting of the place and how scary it is at night, and the mystery shrouding the house where Jane Eyre lives. I love how this novel really describes some of the scenes creepily, but some scenes sweetly. I would also like to recommend the 2011 movie starring Mia Waskiowska, it’s quite creepy. Not exactly horror, but it does have some parts where you’re just covering your eyes with suspense and fear.

#2. The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson
Another popular classics, and this book that can be classified as a gothic slash horror slash thriller! I don’t remember when was the last time I read this book, but I’m pretty sure it was a long time ago. And I’ve quite forgotten about the whole story. But I remember feeling quite scared about the story and the premise itself. A very thrilling read.

feather4

cover2#3. The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater
This series is so popular among book reviewers lately and I’m a huge fan of Maggie Stiefvater. The series is actually more of a paranormal young adult and it’s not scary at all. Well, some parts of some books might be a little mysterious and some might give you goosebumps and all, but it’s mostly a harmless young adult series. But while you’re reading this book you’ll really feel the tone of mystery and anticipation. It’s not a horror book and it doesn’t involve scary monsters or anything, but it’s still a great read during this time of the month.

#4. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
I read the first book of the series sometime this year because of all the hype and fame surrounding it. Everyone kept saying how creepy it is and I do admit, the cover looks terrifying. And I was so intrigued by the cover, I didn’t even read the synopsis and just started reading it. And well, I disliked it. It wasn’t creepy or scary or gothic at all. It was far from that. It has terrible characters – none of whom I really liked or really stuck to me, the plot was awful and weird, and in the end I almost just skimmed through the last pages just to get it overwith.
I have no offence for anyone who likes the series and all, but it’s just not for me. It’s not like what I expected – it doesn’t have any parts that will give you goosebumps or scary things that will keep you up at night. This book feels like a good example of luring people to buy the book through their cover. And if you like the series, fine. I’m glad you found something you liked about it. But I’m sure I won’t be continuing with the series, and for me, although this was shelved as a gothic book, I disagree and I think this is not a scary or gothic book at all.

feather4

cover4#5. Dracula by Bram Stoker
Another horror classic! Dracula is a super famous character that you can see practically everywhere. It’s amazing how a novel can really affect the next generation’s literature. From movies to books to tv shows, so many kinds of entertainment have incorporated this vampire figure into their ideas. This is a book that I have never read before but I am definitely planning on reading this soon, I even listed it in my October TBR. Sadly, I didn’t get to read it this month 😦

#6. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
I read the short version this book in middle school and I regret not reading it in the original version. I’m pretty sure I will try to read it soon. This is another super famous classics, and I’m sure you all know the story. It’s also another novel that has elements of romance in it but also some scary stuff inside as well. I would love to read this soon.

 

feather4

#7. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
Another novel by the Bronte sisters! I’ve never read anything by Emily Bronte, but I’m planning to change that, and since this is her only novel, I’m so excited to read it! The novel is quite famous and there are many movie adaptations that have been made, but I have never really known the story of this novel.

cover3#8. Night Film by Marisha Pessl
This book is a mystery and thriller novel which I don’t really know about. All I know is that many people have been recommending it and it seems thrilling and will make you shiver with how scary it is, which I really like.

#9. The Scapegoat by Daphne du Maurier
As I mentioned in one of my “book hauls”, I bought a copy of this book secondhand and at first I didn’t know anything about the story, but after further research I found out that this is a gothic/thriller fiction and it sounds so interesting, I just can’t help but buy it! The story is about a man whose identity was stolen by his doppelganger, and it’s a gothic mystery thriller.

feather4

#10. The Enchanted by Rene Denfeld
This novel is a mystery/crime, adult literary fiction, which I don’t read that much but is a very interesting genre that I want to read about more. I’m not really sure what it’s about, but I’ve heard so many good things about it that I feel like I won’t be disappointed. I’m actually really interested to buy this book soon!

Well that is my list for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday! What do you think of the books mentioned above? Have you read any of them? Did you like any of them or want to read some? Tell me what you think down below! See you later on the next TTT!

57 comments

  1. I remember reading Jane Eyre right before reading a retelling of it (Jane by April Lindner). If you enjoy gothic romances, then you might want to check out Mary Stewart’s novels. The first of hers that I read was Nine Coaches Waiting and I really enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes for The Raven Boys and Miss Peregrine’s! But read The Raven Boys first; Maggie Stiefvater is the queen of YA. SHE IS AMAZING AND I LOVE EVERYTHING SHE HAS EVER WRITTEN. Which basically meant that when I found out about the Scorpio Races movie I was bouncing off the walls for a good three days.

    Thanks for stopping by <ahref=”https://writingonavintagetypewriter.wordpress.com/ “>Writing on Vintage Typewriter!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Echo your enthusiasm for JEyre. I love how it can be read in different ways. The woman in the attic is very Gothic as is the brooding hero and the isolated old house. But then you can also read it as a social commentary on the position of governesses and single women. Hence why I’ve read it at least six times now

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m SO on the same page as you with Miss Peregrine’s. I read it once in 2012 and then re-read it a few months ago and it’s just… okay. Nothing spectacular. Nothing super exciting. Nothing creepy. It’s hard to find people that feel that way about it!

    I just got Night Film and am pretty excited about it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I own 2 copies of Withering Heights but have yet to finish it. I don’t know why. What I read was good. I have read several of these books, and they were pretty good. I think my favorite from the list was Dr. Jekyll. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I don’t have a single copy of Wuthering Heights, which is probably why I haven’t read it bc I usually get more motivated to read if the book is just waiting for me on the bookshelf…

      Like

  6. Great list! I wanted to read Dracula this month as well, I hope to read it soon though! We’ll see. I really want to read some Daphne du Maurier, I’ve been hearing such good things about her!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I wish you the best of luck when you get around to reading Wuthering Heights. It is a book that has a lot of mixed opinions. Personally I hated it (even though I’ve read it twice) and I won’t go near it with a ten foot pole. I’ll be interested to see your opinion on it when you do read it 🙂 Great list x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh really? Why didn’t you like it? I’ve heard many mixed thoughts as well, but I think it’s just a matter of preference. Some people don’t like the writing style and things like that 🙂 I’m still looking forward to reading it!

      Like

      1. It was just terribly boring to me, the characters really got on my nerves and in some places I really couldn’t understand the speech. There were portions where I had no idea what was happening and I think that really took away from the experience for me.
        But as I said I’m interested in your reaction to it once you’ve read it, it’ll be interesting to read someone else’s point of view on it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Ah, I see. I do have heard mixed thoughts about it, so when I do read the book I’ll be sure to tell you about it and I’m definitely going to write my thoughts on the blo! 😆

          Liked by 1 person

  8. I just picked up a copy of Night Film a few weeks ago because a coworker recommended it, and now I’ve been seeing it almost everywhere. I haven’t read it yet, but I’ve been hearing good things about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Jane Eyre will forever be my favourite classic novel. I agree with what you said about The Raven Boys, it’s not creepy but it has that mysterious, supernatural atmosphere that makes it perfect for this time of year. The Miss Peregrine trilogy has been on my to be read list for so long now, I’m going to have to pick it up sometime soon cause I’ve heard so many wonderful things about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I said the EXACT same thing about Miss Peregrine’s. The cover lies! Here’s my review of it if you’re interested in comparing thoughts.

    I own Night Film and I can’t wait to read it, I’ve heard good things about it. Let’s hope that one isn’t a disappointment too.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I just bought Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell, which fits the category aptly. Ever read that one? Interesting about Miss Peregrine’s, because I was vaguely interested in it, but I might pass. I’ve never heard of Night Film or The Scapegoat, but both sound interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

