October Wrap Up & November TBR!

Can’t believe how quickly October has gone, and now it’s already November??? Crazy! October is usually one of my favourite month of the year because it’s my birthday month and the weather is just beautiful here! And this month is also quite an awesome reading month, because I’ve read 6 books and bought 3 books, not to mention there was a week of autumn break where I did my first ever readathon!

And now, without any further ado, here are the books I’ve read in October.

cover1   cover2   cover3

The Martian by Andy Weir (review)
I’ve talked about this book numerous times in my blog and you all probably know what it’s about, have read this book, or watch the movie, and so I think it’s way too repetitive for me to tell you what the story is and what I thought about. I really enjoyed it, and I wrote a review about it which you can totally check out if you haven’t already.

4 stars

The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North (review coming up soon)
This is a beautiful book and could be one of my favourite books this year. It’s a sci-fi adult fiction about a man, Harry August, who has the ability to relive his life again and again and never die, and how he lives his lives. I bought a copy of this book from The Book Depository for the first time! Check out my review about it if you’re interested, I totally recommend it if you like something deep, quite slow paced, and makes your heart hurt.

4.5 stars

The Invisible Man by HG Wells
I borrowed this book from the library because I’ve always heard about HG Wells and I’ve always wanted to read his book. And it was short, so I thought it wouldn’t hurt to try it out. I also read this while partly listening to the audiobook. For me, this novel is interesting in some ways. It certainly has some aspects that make it a good novel, it’s thrilling and the plot was quite engaging. But it just felt like it didn’t affect me in any way. At first I really liked the main character, the “invisible man”. I felt like we would know more about him and his history, also why he would/could become invisible. But then along the last parts of the book I start to dislike him and it shows how he was crazy and became the antagonist of the book. It was alright, but it wasn’t the best novel I’ve read this month.

2.5 stars

cover4  cover5  cover10

Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman by Haruki Murakami (review)
This is a collection of short stories written by a famous Japanese author that I have heard nothing but good things about. My friends have been recommending Murakami novels for years and I finally decided to read this! This was also the first book I read for my 48 Hour Readathon. I really liked the stories in this novel, and I love how that even though none of the short stories were connected to each other, you can really feel the similar tone and some aspects that were repeated throughout the book, sort of like some of the writer’s personality were seeping into the stories. It was enlightening, some left a profound effect to me, and they were all very impressive.

4 stars

Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella (review coming up soon)
Finding Audrey is a short young adult novel about Audrey, a 14-year-old girl who has something terrible that happened to her that causes her to have anxiety to socialize or go out of her house. She would stay in her dark room and wear sunglasses wherever she goes, and this novel is a story written in her perspective about how she is learning to overcome the illness that she has. This is a very lighthearted novel and a really quick read for me. At the moment I wanted something light and easy to breeze through and this novel did just that. It was also my first Sophie Kinsella novel (a lot of first times in this month!), and I really enjoyed the story, it was funny and really enjoyable.

3 stars

Case Histories by Kate Atkinson
This novel is a mystery/thriller novel that has been called a literary detective story because of its writing style and story. I bought this book secondhand and before I saw this book I’ve never heard about Kate Atkinson. It sounded really interesting, and I haven’t read a lot of mysteries in a while so I decided to give it a go. I was pleasantly surprised to really enjoy this book. It involves three different cases that in the end intertwine and was connected to the same person, which is the detective who handles all the three cases, Jackson Brodie. And this book was a mixture of psychological thrillers, mysterious disappearances, odd but very memorable characters, and so many other different things. I really liked the characters, even though at the beginning I had a hard time telling everyone apart, but in the end they were all really unique and had different parts that made me able to relate to them all.

All the cases were very intriguing and there were plot twists in the end that really got me gasping. I really like the overall plot, the only problem I had with this book is how it was too complicated because it had three different cases. I think it would’ve been more interesting and you could focus more on the details if there had only been two cases, for example. But other than that, I practically flew through this book. The pacing was excellent, and the ending left me thinking about it for hours, I even had a hard time going to sleep because of it. So overall, a really enjoyable novel. Looking forward to reading more Kate Atkinson books in the future!

4 stars

cover6 cover7 cover8 cover9 cover1

And now, moving on to my TBR for November, because I don’t have that many books I’m planning to read, not because I don’t plan on reading too many books but because I don’t know what mood I’ll be in the future and I’ll just choose a book if I feel like it. But here are some of the book I’m quite interested to read in the next month.

  • Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness (finished! review coming up soon)
  • The Secret History by Donna Tartt (currently reading)
  • The Scapegoat by Daphne Du Maurier
  • Emma by Jane Austen
  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  • Tiger’s Curse by Colleen Houck (as a Readalong with Abi!)

So, as a wrap for October:

  • I read 6 books this month
  • With an average of 3.7 stars
  • 1 of them was an ebook
  • 4 of them was a paperback
  • 1 of them was a hardback
  • 2 of them were books I borrowed from someone else (a friend and the library)
  • The best book I read this month was The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August
  • In total I read 1,909 pages with an average of 318.2 pages per book
  • I wrote 4 book reviews on my blog this month
  • And posted 6 posts in total this month
14 comments

Leave a Comment

