December Group Read Announcement! #TheBookBasilisksBookClub

Good evening bookish people and today I am here to announce something exciting for you! You might not know but I have a book club located in Goodreads! I created the club/group more than half a year ago, and since then we’ve had nearly 100 members on the group!

The name of this group is the Book Basilisks Book Club, because someone messaged me on my Harry Potter blog with the fact that we are more than just bookworms, we are book basilisks, like the one in Harry Potter. (because we obviously love Harry Potter too!)

In this book club that I am moderating, we discuss a different book each month after polling and for that whole month we will read the book together and talk about every aspect of the book, share our thoughts on our experience reading the book with each other. It’s super fun but I have to admit we need more members to make the group more exciting and active, which is why I’m inviting all of you guys to join this awesome group!

For the announcement, we had two rounds of polls for December’s group read and at the end, I am happy to announce you that our group read for December is:

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

cover10

Goodreads | Book Depository

I’ve never read the book before and I’m excited to read it with you guys during December, and here’s a little synopsis of the book I got from Goodreads:

Esther Greenwood is brilliant, beautiful, enormously talented, and successful, but slowly going under—maybe for the last time. In her acclaimed and enduring masterwork, Sylvia Plath brilliantly draws the reader into Esther’s breakdown with such intensity that her insanity becomes palpably real, even rational—as accessible an experience as going to the movies. A deep penetration into the darkest and most harrowing corners of the human psyche, The Bell Jar is an extraordinary accomplishment and a haunting American classic.

If you are interested to join in and read this book with us, join our Goodreads group and maybe add me on Goodreads as well!

3 comments

Leave a Comment

