A Book Lover’s Guide to: Gift Giving

Since it’s close to Christmas, and I love giving (and receiving!) gifts from my friends and family, I thought I might want to make a guide to giving presents to your loved ones on this special holiday or other occasions, like birthdays and weddings! Of course, as we all are book lovers, we would want to give books to other people, right?

In this post I will recommend books that are perfect to give as gifts to people who don’t really like reading that much, and these are categorized by the person you’re going to give it to. Hope you like my suggestions!

For Your Mom.

cover1

Book Depository | Amazon

My mom loves reading, she was actually the one who pushed me into reading more since I was young. And I know a lot of mothers like reading too, but of course not all moms have the time or interest to do it. And I’m trying not to generalize here and I’m basically just thinking of my mom when I suggest this book but it is Dear John by Nicholas Sparks. Basically Nicholas Sparks books are filled with fluffy, adorable romance but also deal with adult related stuff, so your mom will probably enjoy it. Except if she hates romance and prefer mysteries, like my mom does, and in that case I’d suggest you give her a Michael Crichton book.

For Your Dad.

cover2

Book Depository | Amazon

A book I would recommend you to give your dad is probably something cheesy but it’ll probably make him a little choked up, but it is Chicken Soup for the Father’s Soul. And I guess in general any kind of Chicken Soup is excellent to give to anyone. It’s sweet and it’s not exactly a novel you have to read and finish, because it consists of really short stories and you don’t have to read it in any order. It also gives a sort of cute sentiment, doesn’t it?

For Your Sister.

cover3

Book Depository | Amazon

I don’t have a sister of my own but I would probably give these two to my sister if I had one, or my female cousins. The first one, The Fault in Our Stars or any novels by John Green, are quite famous and I think this could be tricky because the person might have read it already, or at least seen the movie. So I would really recommend the second one if the person likes sappy novels like these. I myself adore My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult. It’s touching, it made me cry so hard, and it’s beautifully written. It is quite thick, though. But if your sister/cousin/niece will probably appreciate the sentiment, seeing the title of the book has the word sister in it.

For Your Brother.

cover4

Book Depository | Amazon

Now you have probably heard of me talking about this book and series a lot in the blog. I love Patrick Ness’s The Knife of Never Letting Go. It’s a science fiction young adult series filled with action adventure and it’s definitely a guy’s guy book. I’m pretty sure my brother (I have a little brother who’s quite a picky reader) would love this book if I gave this to him on Christmas. It’s also super fast paced so it’s perfect for people who don’t like reading.

For Your Best Friend.

cover6

Book Depository | Amazon

Of course, you know your best friend inside out and you probably know what their interests are. So I probably can’t recommend anything general for this because it really depends on the person. But I did think of this particular book if your friend is a girl and doesn’t really like reading. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern is a beautifully written novel, it’s magical and it’s not very long. But if your friend doesn’t like reading at all, I would also recommend a collection of poems for them. I think it really shows that it’s a meaningful gift but also doesn’t force your friend to read a book.

For Your Young Niece/Nephew/Cousin.

cover7

Book Depository | Amazon

It is usually my family’s tradition to meet up with our extended family on Christmas or the holidays and exchange gifts to them and I have a little cousin that comes in mind when I think about this book. We’re not very close and rarely see each other and I don’t know if he likes reading, but I’m sure he would love the Percy Jackson and the Olympian series by Rick Riordan. This series is perfect for middle grade boys and girls, or even younger. The other series I have loved as well is the Artemis Fowl series by Eoin Colfer, one of my favourite series in the world. The second one is more suitable for slightly older readers, and it’s quite a boyish series but it’s perfect for any kind of preteen. Better yet – because both of these are series, buy them the whole boxset so they can marathon the books and fall in love like I did!

For Your Boyfriend/Husband.

cover5

Book Depository | Amazon

This book, of course, isn’t necessarily for an adult male in particular, in fact I really like this book a lot. But I think most boyfriends would like The Shining by Stephen King if you gave it to them. It might be a little too slow-paced for them, but when they see the title and know how good and scary the story is.

For Your Girlfriend/Wife.

cover9

Book Depository | Amazon

Giving a person who doesn’t like to read a classic might be a little risky, because they might be intimidated by it and not try it altogether. But this edition of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice (and they have other Jane Austen books in similar design as well) is so beautiful that I think your significant other would probably at least give it a try. If not, I would also like to recommend Madame Doubtfire by Anne Fine. It’s short, fun, funny, and quite light.

For Your Not-Too-Close Friend.

cover8

Book Depository | Amazon

Of  course you have that friend who’s not your best friend, but you like enough to actually give them a present to on Christmas or their birthday. For this I’d recommend a collection of short stories. Because you never know what their interests are and you don’t want them to feel pressured to read a long novel if you give them one. And I’m not a huge short story expert, I don’t read that many short stories and most of them are Indonesian, so I’ll recommend one I just read recently, Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman by Haruki Murakami. It’s quite short and light, it might not be everyone’s favourite and it’s not the best short story collection in the world but it’s still a good read.

So that’s all for this list of recommendations! If after this post you’re still not sure what to give a person, just send them something short but sweet, like short story collections or poems, or a Chicken Soup book. Have you ever given anyone a book for Christmas or any other holidays, even though you know they don’t like reading? Which books would you recommend to give as gifts? Anyway, hope you guys have a good Christmas and happy holidays!

instagram logo   twitter logo   email logo

goodreads

4 comments

Leave a Comment

