Top Ten Tuesday: New Authors I Read This Year

Morning everyone and happy Tuesday! As usual today my post will be a Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Today I’m gonna share to you top authors that I read for the first time this year. Let’s get started!

#10. Haruki Murakami

I’ve heard so many good things about Murakami from my friends back in high school. And I only got the chance to buy and read his short stories Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman, but I still really liked it. His writing is really unique and I love the magical aspects of it, and although the stories I read from him are translated, I still really wanna read more stories from him.

#9. Thomas Harris

cover2

I borrowed the two books Red Dragon and The Silence of the Lambs from my friend after he recommended it to me and after I fell in love with the movie Silence of the Lambs. Needless to say I really liked both of these books. They were intriguing and I just flew through it so quickly.

#8. Ian McEwan

I read Atonement during the first weeks of 2015, and I just really like his writing in the book. I love the feelings he took out from me while I was reading his words, and everything just feels real when I read his book.

#7. Kate Atkinson

cover3

I’ve only read one of Kate Atkinson’s books, which is Case Histories. I really enjoyed it, she can really turn a usual crime novel (which I expected going into the book) into something that resembles a literary work, with great writing style and amazing twists on the plot.

#6. Claire North

Claire North is a pen name for Kate Griffith, and I discovered her book The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August later this year and absolutely adored it. I love her writing style – some people might find it kind of slow and boring and too British, but I loved it. I also like how she can really build up a good plot but also pay alot of attention on her characters. A review of the book will come out soon in my blog, so look out for that!

#5. Madeline Miller

cover5

As I wrote in my review of The Song of Achilles, I love Madeline Miller’s prose. She can really shape up her characters and also write it in a poetic and beautiful way. This book was just amazing, I loved it and I can’t wait to see other works she has done.

#4. Erin Morgenstern

I read this author’s novel The Night Circus because of all the hype and I was not disappointed at all. Her writing style is beautiful, and the atmosphere she creates in her novel is just wonderful. I was transported right into the world she created and it was just beautiful.

#3. George Orwell

cover6

I’ve only read 1984 written by George Orwell last summer. And I absolutely loved it! He is probably the only classic author in this list, which is a shame because it means I need to explore more classics next year. But yeah, I loved 1984, it was a really well-written novel that gives you the creeps. Really want to read his other books (espeically Animal Farm) in 2016.

#2. Patrick Ness

The first Patrick Ness book I read was The Knife of Never Letting Go. I loved it and the whole series so much and I’m looking forward to reading more from him next year. If you haven’t been in my blog long enough, you’d probably want to check out my review of the trilogy where I persuade you to read them.

#1. Donna Tartt

cover7

As I have probably gushed a lot of times in this blog, Donna Tartt has became one of my favourite authors this year after I read The Goldfinch and The Secret History later this year. Her writing is magical and beautiful, I love her books so much and I just want to read them all.

Those are the top ten new authors I read this year! Do you like any of them as well? Who are your favourite authors that you just discovered this year? Don’t forget to share and comment down below!

twitter logo   tumblr logo   instagram logo

goodreads

44 comments

    1. That’s too bad! Maybe you should try reading his other work. The Knife of Never Letting Go is a little hard to get into because of the writing style, but I heard that A Monster Calls is excellent, so you could maybe start from there! 😀

      Like

  1. I’m so happy to see Patrick Ness on this list! Chaos Walking is definitely the best dystopian series I’ve read. I can’t wait to try out his adult books too. I also really love Murakami. I read The Strange Library earlier this year and it’s a shorter story that you might like as well. I also really enjoyed Norwegian Wood and After Dark.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have only read Animal Farm by George Orwell. But I have 1984 on my Classics Club list. Animal Farm is really interesting, if I remember. It’s been years for me. And of course, The Night Circus. So great. Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t read those two books by McEwan! I really should check them out.
      I know I’ll love Ness’s other books… I really wanna read More Than This but I think I’ll read A Monster Calls first 😊

      Like

      1. I didn’t like Saturday much, but who knows, it could be just because it was an assigned read and those are harder to get through, haha. The Comfort of Strangers is pretty interesting and very short.

        A Monster Calls is great too! The illustrations are just perfect.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Oooo, so many of these are on my TBR and now I’m looking forward to reading them even more 🙂 (I hope you like “Animal Farm” when you get around to it. It’s the only Orwell book I’ve read – I keep meaning to get to 1984 – and I really liked it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Some choices here I would agree with – Kate Atkinson, Ian McEwan in particular. Mcewans earlier work is better than his more recent stuff with the exception of Atonement which is simply superb. Atkins non crime work is well worth reading .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really want to read more of McEwan’s work, his writing style is just beautiful. Any recommendations on which book I should continue with for those two authors? 🙂

      Like

  5. Patrick Ness is amazing! He’s an author I discovered this year through A Monster Calls and soon after that, The Knife of Never Letting Go! I really want to read those two books by Donna Tart, after reading an excerpt of The Goldfinch in one of my school English exams (hehe, what a weird way to discover a book).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

