Top Ten Tuesday: Best Stand Alones

Hello everyone, hope you have a wonderful Tuesday! This week the topic of the Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish was Top Ten Best Books I Read in 2015, but I tweaked the topic a little bit because I planned on making my Top 15 Books I Read in 2015 in early 2016. And I’ve noticed that this year I have read probably more stand alones than series. So for this TTT, I chose the best stand alones I read in 2015!

#9. Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden


I’ve mentioned this book plenty of times throughout my blogging history these past few months. For more information on my thoughts, read my review of the novel here.

#8. Paper Towns by John Green


I’m not a huge fan of John Green and I wasn’t planning on reading this book but it became the Book Basilisks Book Clubs chosen group read so I reluctantly did. I ended up quite liking it a lot. It was entertaining, I liked the writing style and the story with the meaning behind it was quite brilliant.

#7. The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman


My second Neil Gaiman book for more to come, but this was a very enchanting and mesmerising book. It’s magical and I was just absorbed into the book when I read it.

#6. The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri


I only finished this book like, two weeks ago and I already really like it. I was glad I picked it up, because at first I wasn’t very excited to read this book. My friend had recommended it to me ages ago but I was like whatever I don’t care about your opinion. Well, I was wrong. I really liked the story and the characters in this novel. I think I might write a full review of this novel soon!

#5. The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller


I have mentioned this novel numerous times as well. Another Book Basilisks Book Club group read, this book is just beautifully written and the characters just break my heart. Check out my full thoughts on my review here.

#4. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern


Again, another book I’ve named again and again on my blog. Most of you have probably read this book as well. I read this on my summer vacation and I just couldn’t put it down, I finished it in like 3 days, which was fast for me. It was beautiful and the atmosphere it created was just perfect.

#3. Sphere by Michael Crichton


I read this book very early in the year 2015, but the story have just stuck with me for the rest of the years. This book was everything I wanted – it has the right amount of mystery, intrigue, science, and fantasy. It was thrilling, it gave me chills, and the plot was amazing. Basically this was the book that really pulled me into Michael Crichton and I love it.

#2. The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North


Of course this novel would be really high on this list, and I will not be surprised if it became one of my favourite books I read in 2015 as well. It’s such a beautifully written book, with a great plot and amazing characters. The writing made me cry and made me stay up late at night reading it. Basically I loved it and if I could I’d reread it right now again. I will put up a review of this book soon, so wait for that!

#1. The Secret History by Donna Tartt


Well no surprise here, my best book read in 2015 is this one. I’ve only read this a month ago but it immediately soared up high into the list of my favourite books of the year. I regret not reading it sooner. Again, I won’t say much of it because I just posted a review of the book which you can read in here. If you haven’t read it yet, go ahead now and read it! It’s amazing.

Well there you are! A little sneak peak for my list of best books I read in 2015, although I was so disappointed I didn’t reach 10 books this time. Did you recognize any of the books I mentioned above? Have you read any of them? What are your thoughts on them? What stand-alones are your favourite that you read this year? Let me know in the comments and we can talk about these amazing books together! Until the next post, see you then!


  1. I love Michael Crichton, he is an amazing author. I really really need to read The Song of Achilles. It sounds like a book I would love. The Night Circus is another book I keep telling myself to just hurry up and read already haha. Great list!🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Night Circus and The Secret History are some of my favourite books, they’re both so wonderfully and evocatively written.🙂 Lovely list!

    I must must must get around to Song of Achilles in 2016, I’ve been meaning to for months (maybe even years by now).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great list! I love The Night Circus. I’ve seen The Song of Achilles on a few lists and it’s reminded me that I have it sitting on my e-reader – I’m pretty sure I bought it and just never read it. Looks like I should get to it asap!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve been wanting to read another Michael Crichton book after reading and absolutely loving Jurassic Park, but I haven’t known where to start. I’ll definitely have to add Sphere to my list!

    This is such a great list! I read The Night Circus around Christmastime last year and I still think about it occasionally- the story is just so enchanting. It’s one of those books that really lingers in your mind afterwards!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve not read most of these but did read Memories of a Geisha many years ago and loved it. If memory serves men there are some great scenes where she is dressed for the first time in a ceremonial kimono. It came back to me earlier in the year when I was in Tokyo and saw these women out shopping in full regalia. How elegant they looked but how they walked in those tight wrapped cloths and with sandals I have no idea

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

