Christmas Book Haul (aka Books I Bought for Myself with Christmas as an Excuse)

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year my dear readers! How was your holiday? Did you eat a lot? Did you get many presents? I myself didn’t get that many presents, because this year I spent my Christmas away from my family and I only spent the holidays with a distant relative so I mostly got un-book related presents.

But, I did buy several books for myself! I just wanted to give myself a Christmas present and I went to the bookstore and ended up buying a couple of books. It’s not a large amount of books to even be called a book haul, but I rarely ever buy books anyway so for me this is already enough for, like, three months. Anyway, let me show you the books I got!

2015-12-30 10.54.20

The earliest book I bought is a book I have already read, and I bought it weeks before Christmas but with Christmas in mind. It is The Book Thief by Markus Zusak and I adored the book so very much! I will post a review about the book soon.

Next I bought Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell online from the Book Depository and I cannot wait to read it! So many of you have said that it’s such a good book and I just feel like I’m gonna love it. The other two books I bought from the American Book Center near my house, the first one is A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness, which is one of the books I have been meaning to buy for such a long time. I loved Patrick Ness and I just want to buy all his books.

The second one I got for a good bargain – it was a secondhand book and it is the second book of the Jackson Brodie series, One Good Turn by Kate Atkinson. I read the first book, Case Histories, not too long ago and I really liked Atkinson’s writing style, so I decided to continue the series.

Those are the books I bought for myself in the month of December! What are your thoughts on them? What books did you buy for yourself or you got from your friends and family this month? Let me know in the comments!

instagram logo  tumblr logo  twitter logo

goodreads

15 comments

  1. The Book Thief is a good book, but not one of my favourites that I tend to reread.

    I found the format a bit weird, how the story would break off to include a couple of lines of puns or ominous words, but it’s not the worst. I did enjoy the movie, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually thought the small lines were unique and great! And the entire fact that it was narrated by Death was amazing. I really liked the movie, although the book was just A++ for me 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

