Bout of Books 15 Updates: Day 1 & 2

Happy Tuesday everyone! I hope you are all having a lovely week. As you probably know, I am currently joining the 15th Bout of Books readathon, which is held from January 4th to January 11th. It’s been a blast, and here are my updates for the first two days of the readathon.

Day One

Number of pages read: 188 pages of Fangirl
Amount of time spent reading: 1 hour 40 min

Day Two

Number of pages read: 78 pages of Fangirl + 41 pages of Scarlet = 119 pages
Amount of time spend reading: 1 hour 24 min

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell was such a fun experience – I love the romance (which is a rare thing for me), I adore the fanfiction parts and Cath is such a relatable character. I’m super excited to see how the story evolves. I really appreciate Cath and Levi’s relationship, they’re adorable, although I sort of hoped Cath would end up with Nick. But I’m also interested in Cath’s relationship with Wren – they have such an interesting dynamic and although I sort of think they are too much like the stereotypical twins in a fictional universe, I really like how their relationship is heading.

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer was kind of slow to get into but once I got in the groove I was pretty much hooked. I like Scarlet more than Cinder, and on some parts where it was Cinder’s chapter I found myself wishing that it would switch to Scarlet’s. I didn’t really like Thorne, he felt like a weirder and uglier version of Han Solo. And I loved Wolf, he’s so interesting but at the same time every time I read about him I always picture him as a real human-like wolf instead of a wolf-like human, which is kind of odd.

So far I have surpassed my goal to read 1 hour each day! I hope in the next two days I can finish at least one book and start another one! How is your readathon doing? And if you’re not joining the readathon, have you read any of the books I’m reading and what did you think of them?

For more regular updates, follow me on Twitter and Goodreads!

4 comments

  1. Congratulations! Readathon seems like a challenging experience. I once tried reading a book for one and a half (more than a half, I think) days nonstop (except to eat and take a bath, that is) and I ended up with some kind of a hangover. The things you do without the internet and with a good book at arm’s reach.

    I’m glad you’re enjoying the experience! I read Fangirl a few years back and enjoyed it. Cath is an adorable person and I think bookworms and nerds alike could relate to her.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love readathons. I don’t read that quickly in the first place and on these readathons I mostly just read for around two hours each day because I have school, so it’s not that much but I just love the feeling!
      I really like Fangirl so far! I know how so many people love it and I think I’m probably the only person who hasn’t read it yet :’)

      Like

Leave a Comment

