December Wrap Up

Slightly late but as people say, it’s better than never! Even though I made a post of my 2015 wrap up and all, I just thought it was still necessary for me to show you the books I read in December 2015 and what I thought about them. So, here they are!

cover1  cover2  cover3

The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri (review)
I don’t want to talk much about this book because as you might know, I loved this book! I also wrote an extensive review which you can read here. Don’t worry – if you haven’t read it, you can still read the spoiler-free parts because I separated the spoilers from the non-spoilers part.

4 stars

The Scapegoat by Daphne Du Maurier
This novel is about a man who accidentally meets a stranger who looks exactly like him, and after a night, that other man took his identity and he was forced to become another person and was thrust into that stranger’s family. It was a very interesting read for me. It was kind of hard to get into, just because it was a classic and the narration was quite old-school language. But I really enjoyed the overall story. The middle part of the book was okay, but what bothered me was how the characters were all kind of weird and unmemorable? I had a hard time telling who was who and who was related to whom and all. But overall I really liked the story and the message itself, how it addresses the main character’s self discovery, and also shows some themes like family and war. What kind of bothered me, other than the characters, was the fact that the whole plot seemed kind of straight and there were no action or anything exciting. I guess I might have been reading too much young adult, but I felt like the story wasn’t going much anywhere.
Comparing the book to the movie, which I watched several days after finishing the book, I actually quite liked the movie. It was so different from the book but still retained some aspects of the book into the movie. I loved the actors who played the characters, and they all made the characters more likeable than in the books. The ending was odd but other than that, it was quite an enjoyable movie and book.

3 stars

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery
I just randomly picked up this little book, which I don’t even own because I read my friend’s copy. Of course so many of you have read or at least have heard of the book before. I myself have never read it before until now. I understand why so many people from different ages and places loved it. It was quite and quirky and I feel like there was something beautiful about the book itself. I love the cute little illustrations, and the ending was lovely. Overall a very nice read.

3.5 stars

cover4    cover5

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
Well I have finally read this book! I went into this story with so many people saying how amazing it was and how it changed their lives. And I really understand what they are talking about now! It’s such a beautiful book. I think I might make a separate review about it, but I just want to let you guys know that I love the book very much. And yes, of course, I cried while reading it. Especially those last chapters. But what I thought was really amazing about this book was its uniqueness, how its format was slightly different and how the story was written from a very unique point of view. More thoughts of the book will come in a review which I will (hopefully) write soon!

4.5 stars

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
You have probably heard of this book before. It was voted as the monthly group read of my book club (The Book Basilisks Bookclub) and I haven’t read this book before. It has been considered as an important piece of modern classic and it deals with very important themes, more specifically mental illnesses. I really enjoyed this book. At first I didn’t really like where the story was going because the main character, who narrates the story, was a great narrator but the character did suffer from depression and you can feel it in her words. The writing was beautiful, and the characters were great. I really like the whole feel of it and it was quite chilling to know that this novel was based on Plath’s own experiences and thoughts. Overall it was a beautiful book and I am glad I read it.

4 stars

Well, those are the books I read in December! Not a very bad reading month I must say, it was filled with quite interesting and memorable reads. Hoping to read more in January!

Screen Shot 2015-12-30 at 5.29.42 PM copy

17 comments

    1. Wow, I’m so sad to find that I started with a bad book by du Maurier then! I really want to get her other books and see if they are better, though. Which one would you recommend I continue with?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Du Maurier’s most famous work (and widely considered to be her magnum opus) is Rebecca. I haven’t read it though hahaha. I’m saving it for last. I’ve been told that it’s the perfect book for me so I really want to savor it.

        The old-school, period drama fusty feel is apparent in all her prose. But I adore this kind of writing. In fact, du Maurier hits all my “favorite trope” buttons, so my love for her is subjective.

        I fell in love with du Maurier because of her short stories though. I highly recommend “The Birds” (which was adapted to a Hitchcock movie). Really chilling and effective. I think du Maurier invented the “survive against the clock” trope with that story.

        I also love the stories “Don’t Look Now” (what is the source of terror? The supernatural or just plain paranoia.. Gah! I’m a sucker for that theme), “The Blue Lenses” (starts slow but the tension is tight and perfect ending is perfect), and “Monte Verita.” “Monte Verita” is an anomaly in Du Maurier’s oeuvre. Du Maurier’s works often have a classic thriller feel, but “Monte Verita” is more abstract, more literary, more ambiguous.

        I think you can find some of these stories online. Do give Du Maurier another chance! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Ohmy, thank you so much! I feel like I need to copy this comment and paste it somewhere important 😂
          I really wanna check out her other works before I decide whether I like her style or not!

          Like

  1. So great to hear that you liked The Book Thief! I remember commenting on one of your posts about how I’m going to read it, too–maybe a month ago?–but I still haven’t, oops. 😛

    And hey, I also haven’t done my December wrap-up yet. I might today if I get the chance. #superlate

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

