The Book Courtship Tag

Another book tag aw yeah! I love these because I get to show you books that I have read a long time ago and rarely ever talk about in my blog, but still love. I was tagged by Paige @ Page by Paige and Arec @ Rainy Thursdays and this tag was created by LovelyLikeLaura.

cover1cover2Phase 1: Initial Attraction. A book that you bought because of the cover?

One book that immediately came to mind was of course the beautiful book with the beautiful cover of Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater. Just look at it and if you tell me that you don’t like it, I’ll shove that book in your face. Another book that I remember I bought only because of the cover and not because I’ve heard about it somewhere or anything like that is The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonassen. I really like the colour and the art style on this cover.

cover3Phase 2: First Impressions. A book that you got because of the summary?

I picked up Artemis Fowl: The Eternity Code on my library thinking it would be just a light read. I was super intrigued with the synopsis, and it turns out it became one of my favourite books in my life. So thank you, school library for providing me with that book, and thank you, Eoin Colfer for making such a good summary.

cover4Phase 3: Sweet Talk. A book with great writing?

Ugh so many books came to mind but I’d just like to mention one that I distinctly remember loving not because it was poetic or uses a lot of metaphors but just how the story flowed and how the writer can really shape sentences, especially at the end of a chapter, to really hit you in the chest with feelings. And that book is My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult. I really liked the writing here and I really should check out Picoult’s other works.

cover5Phase 4: First Date. A first book of a series which made you want to pick up the rest of the series?

This might not come as a surprise to anyone but the book I chose is A Game of Thrones by George RR Martin. I read the first book and by the time I reached the 100th or so page I happen to go to a bookstore and I decided to just buy the second book. Because I knew I would love the whole series. And I did, and I still do!

cover6Phase 5: Late Night Phone Calls. A book that kept you up all night?

The latest book that really kept be up all night is The Secret History by Donna Tartt. But an older book that I remember really preventing me to go to sleep is Sphere by Michael Crichton. While I was reading that novel, I just couldn’t stop thinking about it. And I just want to spend my whole day reading it! And all night! But during the day I have school so I can’t read it, and so I read it all night long!

cover7Phase 6: Always on my mind. A book you could not stop thinking about?

The book I just mentioned above kind of fits in this category, but I also chose another book which was 1984 by George Orwell. I was very affected by that book. I read it during vacation and the whole story just kept popping up in the back of my mind all through that vacation trip. It was so mesmerising and the message itself just stuck to me even after I finished reading it.

cover8Phase 7: Getting Physical. A book which you love the way it feels?

This is a book you guys probably don’t know and probably have never heard of, but it is Refrain by Winna Efendi. It’s an Indonesian beautiful little novel I borrowed from the library (again!) and it’s just so cute because on the front cover it has an envelope that can open with a paper of lyrics inside, as far as I can remember. I don’t know if it was just my imagination or if the whole book packaging was like that, it has been years since I read that book. But it’s quite a lovely book, both inside and outside.

cover9Phase 8: Meeting the parents. A book which you would recommend to your family and friends?

So many books come to mind but the ultimate book I’d probably buy for my nieces, nephews, or even children in the future is the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan. It’s my childhood, and I think it will appeal to so many people, and I’ve known a lot of people who claimed that they didn’t like reading, but once they read Percy Jackson, they actually got interested to read more books. And I already have been recommending the books to basically everyone I know, and will continue to do so in the future.

Phase 9: Thinking about the future. A book or series you know you will re read many times in the future?

I think for this one I will choose the most obvious one, a series of books that I have reread so many times before and every time I do, I just feel like being home, and it is the Harry Potter series by JK Rowling. Enough said.

Phase 10: Share the love. Who do you tag?

instagram logo  tumblr logo  twitter logo

booktags

22 comments

  1. I might actually “steal” this tag from you, if that’s OK. I haven’t done a bookish tag in a while, and this would be a nice change of pace from all the personal-fact ones I’ve been doing lately. 🙂 Plus, I like the “book courtship” idea!

    And I love your answer to #9. I’d go back and re-read the Harry Potter series, too… but I’ve got so many other books I haven’t read yet! :S

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the tag, Ayunda! Loving all of the blue covers that you featured 🙂 I also bought The One Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared based on the cover and title. My copy has a different cover that’s super eye catching. And, of course, the title just gets your attention straight away!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooh, I actually just did this tag earlier this month (but it’s set to schedule on February 13th in time for Valentine’s Day 😉 ) and I loved how it was set up. Lovely answers, Ayunda! So many good memories with the ones you chose; I read a lot of the titles on here as a kid/preteen (The Lightning Thief, Artemis Fowl, and Shiver)! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

