Seasons of Book Blogging Tag

More book tags, because why the heck not? Super huge thanks to the three lovely people who tagged me for this one: Analee @ Book Snacks, Reg @ She Latitude, and Bhavya @ Books N’ Calm. This tag was created by Jordyn @ J Bookish.

The Rules:

  • Thank the creator and the person who tagged you
  • Begin with the month in which you were tagged and move forward from there!
  • State the best gift you’ve ever been given after you answer the question for your birthday month
  • Tag whomever you like when you’re finished… or else you’ll be ‘it’ forever
  • Have fun, of course!

December is a time when friends and families come together and celebrate. Name one book you would give as a gift.

cover1

I’ve made a whole another post for gift-giving books, but a particular book that I have loved and think a lot of people will love is a gorgeous edition of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

January begins a new year. Name a resolution you made this year and if you’ve kept it or not!

Well, it’s only the beginning of the year and so far I’ve tried my best to achieve my resolutions! Wanna know what they are? Check out my 2016 bookish resolutions and my 2016 TBR.

February is the month for relationships. Name your favourite book relationship: romantic, platonic, or familial, your choice!

I love platonic relationships. I feel like I’ve mentioned it a lot, but one of my favourite book brotps are Ron and Harry from Harry Potter by JK Rowling. They are such a touching couple, they complete each other and are like the perfect friends ever. Check out my Ron/Harry brotp tag in my Harry Potter blog here if you don’t believe about how big my love for them is.

cover2March is the month for luck and new beginnings. Name a book or series that you would like to re-experience as if you’d never read it.

A basic answer would probably be Harry Potter, but another book series that I would love to re-experience again is the Artemis Fowl series by Eoin Colfer. I regret reading the series in not a chronological order – I think I would probably love it more if I had read it when I was slightly younger and if I had started it from the first book instead of the third one the way I did it.

April is a spectacularly ordinary month. Name a book that was so over-hyped that it just could not live up to your expectations.

I know I’ve mentioned this several times, but Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs is one of the worst books I read in 2015. It was so overhyped, I expected way too much from it and when I read it I felt like it was so bad, even though it was mostly because of my high expectations coming into the book.

May is the month when the flowers start to bloom. Name a book that was a pleasant surprise to you.

cover3

Hunting Lila by Sarah Alderson was a pleasant surprise for me. Because it wasn’t a very popular book and I’ve never heard of the author before, I came into the story expecting a mediocre young adult story. I came out of it feeling so wronged. The book has an exciting plot, awesome main character, and a really great premise. If you haven’t read it yet, go ahead and read it!

cover4June is the time to take a break. Name a book or genre that you like to read when you just need to check out.

I don’t really have a “go to” book that I would read when I’m down or anything, but from time to time I’ve always enjoyed picking up Hoot by Carl Hiaasen from my bookshelf back home. It’s a light and fun book and very enjoyable to read.

July is the time to celebrate your independence! Name a book that made you see fireworks. (Figuratively. Please don’t light books on fire.)

1984 by George Orwell totally blew my brains out figuratively and I feel like I’ve never recovered ever since. Oh and actually, August is where my country celebrate our Independence Day 😉 we don’t light fireworks but it’s quite an eventful day.

August is the hottest month of the year. Pick an up-and-coming author that you think will be the next hottest thing.

I would’ve said Maggie Stiefvater 5 years ago when I first discovered Shiver, but she has already become a hot author nowadays. And since I rarely ever read new books, I would probably choose Claire North, whose book The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August I read last year. Though it has been quite popular in the book blogging community, I still wish more people would read this book.

cover5September is time for students to go back to school! Pick a book you read for school that you actually enjoyed.

My high school rarely ever assigns books to read but I did read Totto Chan by Tetsuko Kuroyanagi for a Japanese class in middle school and really liked it.

October is time to celebrate Halloween! Pick one character that you would love to dress up as for Halloween.

Sooo many people and characters! I’ve always dreamed of becoming Percy from Percy Jackson by Rick Riordan – I want to have a Camp Half-Blood orange t-shirt so bad! Or maybe the No Face Monster from Spirited Away (which isn’t a book but a really excellent movie which you all should watch).

October is also my birth month, and the best gift I have been given is probably my iPhone, which I got for my birthday last year. But the most memorable and loved object would be my Barnes and Noble Nook, which I intended to buy myself but then my mom said she would pay for half of it and I would pay for half of it on my 15th birthday.

November is the month when we’re reminded of how much we have to be thankful for. Choose one book you’re grateful for having read and give a shout-out to the person who recommended it!

cover6

I am forever grateful to my cousin who recommended the Percy Jackson series to me. I wouldn’t have fallen in love with Nico di Angelo and obsessed with Percy in my middle school years it if weren’t for her.

I tag:

booktags

instagram logo   tumblr logo   twitter logo

18 comments

  1. I want to read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children at some point. It’s a shame it was disappointing! I’ll go into reading it with low expectations. Agree with you on Ron and Harry 🙂 Need to reread HP soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This tag looks like it’s going to be fun! You’ve mentioned a few new-to-me authors and books here – I might have to check them out! And I think I’ll be choosing Harry Potter for March too…no other series beats it for me. Thanks for tagging me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

