Five Things About: Emma by Jane Austen

Good evening everyone and welcome back to Tea and Paperbacks! My reading progress this year has been quite slow so far… I’m 2 books behind my schedule on my Goodreads goal! Which is kinda understandable for me because I set myself a really high goal for myself this year (55 books), and also because school has been super tiring. But anyways, today I would like to post about a book I recently read, a probably familiar read to you guys: Emma by Jane Austen. Here in my Five Things Series I will list five things or aspects in the book I want to talk about, and whether I liked it or not.

cover4

#1. The Adorable Friends-Turn-Lovers

Everybody knows about the cute relationship between the main character, Emma, and Mr Knightley. They had known each other for years, and have been really good friends, as close as family. They would bicker with each other and advice each other, and they are so comfortable with each other because they basically see each other almost every day. Yet along the book you see their friendship bloom into something different, and this kind of trope is probably one of my favourite ones in the fictional world. That kind of slow burn love between Emma and Knightley are adorable, and the main reason why I love this book.

quote2I cannot make speeches, Emma… If I loved you less, I might be able to talk about it more. But you know what I am. You hear nothing but truth from me. I have blamed you, and lectured you, and you have borne it as no other woman in England would have borne it.

#2. The Humor

I love how the story of this book basically focus a lot on the miscommunication and misunderstanding between characters. It’s hilarious and so fun to read. How Emma would think that Elton was in love with Harriet when in fact he loves Emma herself. And other things involving love and feelings that are never explicitly stated that would turn up to be the opposite of what we thought. It’s so fun and I think that if I would live in that era where a person’s love life is so subtle yet also so fast, I don’t think I will survive.

#3. The Writing Style

The writing style itself was typical for Jane Austen. It wasn’t too heavy, but there were parts that felt too slow and redundant, that makes the reader quite bored of reading it. The chapter where the letter from Churchill was inserted was for me waaay too long and made me feel bored when I was reading it. But other than that it flows really well and even though at first I was a little confused with all the characters, I still can really enjoy the book.

quote2Were I to fall in love, indeed, it would be a different thing; but I have never been in love; it is not my way, or my nature; and I do not think I ever shall.

#4. The Friendships

I think this book doesn’t only focus on the romance of the women, but also the friendships between them. From the first chapters it has been established that Emma was really good friends with Mr Knightley. But I really like Emma’s friendships with other people, like Harriet and her relationship with her father. It was a lovely dynamic to explore, and I just love Emma herself in particular. She reminds me of myself in the way that we are both very sensible when it comes to love, that we follow mostly our head instead of our heart. But nonetheless Emma still feels very deeply and in the end it is her compassion and love that makes her a better person and a better character for me.

#5. The Movie Adaptations

After reading the book I watched two different movie adaptations, the first one being the 1996 Emma starring Gwyneth Paltrow. It was a really fun and entertaining movie. Lots of parts and quotes from the book was put inside the movie, and although I wasn’t really into the decision of picking Paltrow as Emma, it was still a very enjoyable movie.

cover1

The other movie adaptation I watched is of course the very famous 1995 movie Clueless, which isn’t a true book to movie adaptation but just a movie that is inspired by the novel. It’s a really fun twist of the real story, and I first thought it would be kinda cheesy and all that but I actually really enjoyed it! It was light and fun, and the romance was really cute. I love how it has really different character in the movie but still embody the essence of the novel through the plot points.

3.5 stars

Have you guys read Emma? What did you like and dislike about the book? Did you also like their movie adaptations? Let me know your thoughts on the book in the comments.

bookreviewinstagram logo   tumblr logo   twitter logo

 

11 comments

  1. This is my favorite Austen novel! I love the characters and the humor so much. I also love Clueless, I never get sick of that movie. I wrote an essay all about adaptations of Austen and Clueless was one I discussed.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read Emma, but I really like the Gwynth Paltrow movie. ^ ^ Mr. Knightley is so cute! I also recently had an Emma-inspired too that was so yummy! Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this book! I read it ages ago, and then listened to the audiobook last year (which was amazing). My book group is in the middle of a group read of Emma right now, and then we’re going to watch the movie (and Clueless too!). Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

