February Wrap Up & March TBR

I can’t believe it’s already March. Where has the time gone? This is crazy. I’m still in shock, to be honest. But anyways, February went by with so little progress in my reading. This is probably the least I’ve read in the history of blogging. I’m 3 books away from my schedule and the books I actually finished this month weren’t that amazing either. But anyways, here is my monthly reading wrap up!

February Wrap Up

Emma by Jane Austen (review)

cover1

A first read for me, this is a classic that I’ve eyed for a while and I finally gotten round to reading it. I really liked the wittiness of the characters, and the romance was wonderful for me as well. To know more of my thoughts on the book, check out my review for the book.

3.5 stars

Sundowners by Leslie Lokko (DNF)

cover2

I picked this book up knowing nothing about it and merely because my landlady owned it and lent it to me. Even from the start I didn’t like it, I knew it wasn’t a genre I usually like to read and from the first few chapters I just couldn’t like it. I tried to read until around page 100-something, and I finally gave up. So, a few days wasted for this book.

Winter by Marissa Meyer

cover3

Finally, after reading Cinder in the middle of last year and marathoning the rest of the books last month, I finally finished this huge brick of a book. I have quite a lot of thoughts about it, so I’m positive that I will post a review about this book later in this blog. But I found that I just couldn’t rate it above 3 stars in the end. It wasn’t as amazing as everyone has been saying it is, and the whole series for me was not that good.

3 stars

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

cover4

An incredibly beautiful and heartbreaking book, and my first five-star read this year! I will talk about it more in my review, but as you can probably tell, I loved it very very much. Another book scratched off from the Books To Read in 2016 list!

5 stars

Books to Read in March

cover5   cover6   cover7  cover8

  • White Teeth by Zadie Smith (currently reading): because I’ve heard so many things about Zadie Smith and why not start with an author’s first book? Also it’s available on my uni library.
  • We Were Liars by E. Lockhart (currently reading): because rich families, summer (I’m too sick of this cold weather tbh), and beaches. What else could you ask for?
  • St Lucy’s Home for Girls Raised by Wolves by Karen Russell: because I wanna read more short story collections, and this one has been popping up all over the internet for a while. Not to mention, what an awesome title!
  • Animal Farm by George Orwell: because I plan to read one book from my 100 Books List a month and this seems like a great, short, thought-provoking novel, especially since I read and adored 1984 last year.

2016 Resolutions Updates

  • Read 55 books (6/55: 3 books behind schedule)
  • Borrow more books from the library (1 book borrowed from the library)
  • Read 2 hours a week (3.8 hours reading in avg per week)

What are the books you want to read in March? Did you have a successful reading month in February? Let me know in the comments down below!

instagram logo  tumblr logo  twitter logo

wrapup

Header image copyright: Majaraco @ Tumblr

17 comments

  1. What an eclectic selection you have for March! I hope you like Animal Farm; that’s a classic I haven’t had the chance to read yet. As for Emma… I didn’t really like Emma, the character, that much but I guess she’s supposed to be unlikeable and it doesn’t make it a bad book. Normally, I like Austen but only if I’m in the mood for her books. As for Winter, that’s interesting! You’re right, most people loved that finale. I read Cinder when it first came out but I don’t think it’s my cup of tea. I didn’t like it all that much but I do plan to reread and continue the series someday. ^.^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can’t wait to read Animal Farm! I know I’m gonna love it 😂
      I actually really liked Emma as a character! And I wasn’t a huge fan of Cinder either… The whole series wasn’t my favourite, unfortunately. You’re not missing out on anything by not continuing the series in my opinion 😅

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I jut finished reading We Were Liars and I’m still recovering I think. It was so disturbing in places, but also really beautiful, surprising and thought-provoking above all. It’s definitely an interesting read. I hope you enjoy it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Even though February wasn’t your best month (the exact same for me actually!) I’m sure March will be better! A Monster Calls is such a beautiful book, I’m glad you liked it!
    Animal Farm was my first read of 2016 and it’s a really great book! I hope you like it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Hopefully we all read a lot of amazing books in March 😁
      I’m really looking forward to reading Animal Farm this month. I’m almost a hundred percent sure I’ll love it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

