January and February Bimonthly Movie Wrap Up

Hello everyone, and welcome back to Tea and Paperbacks! As you probably know, so far this blog has mostly focused on books. In fact, almost 100 percent of the things I post here are about books. But, I also want to talk to you guys about another hobby that I love, which is watching movies! I have a goal this year to watch 100 movies. Last year, I nearly reached that goal by watching 98 movies. This year I hope I can watch more than that.

So, I’ve decided that starting from this year, I will start to post bimonthly wrap ups of the movies I watch! I thought it’ll be simpler to do the wrap ups once every two months because I will only highlight the several memorable movies I watched in that month, instead of reviewing every single movie I watched. Keep in mind that the movies I will include in this list are not necessarily new released movies, and might include movies that I have watched before.

Movies I Watched in January

movie1movie2movie3movie4movie5movie6

Movies I Watched in February

movie7movie8movie9movie10movie12

TV Shows I Watched in January and February

movie11

  • Breaking Bad: currently watching season 3
  • The X-Files: currently watching season 2
  • Orphan Black: currently watching season 1
  • Daredevil: currently waiting for season 2
  • Shadowhunters: watched the first two episodes and gave up
  • Supernatural: currently watching season 11

Highlights

Movies

Whiplash (2014)
First time I watched this movie, and I was blown away by the acting and the whole nuance of the movie. Excellent and gripping story, Miles Teller was excellent.

When Harry Met Sally (1989)
Again, this was the first time I’ve watched this super famous and classic movie, and all I can say is that I regret not watching this earlier. I’m not a huge fan of romance movies but this one is just sweet and fun and adorable. Now I understand why my mom loves it so much.

quote1

Sense and Sensibility (1995)
I enjoyed the book, and every time this movie would play on TV at home my mom would watch it again and again with me. This time I watched it alone just because it was available on Netflix on a quiet weekend day, and I just loved reliving the whole story, the lovely characters, and the beautiful screenwriting.

Side Effects (2013)
Recommended by my friend since she heard about how much I liked Gone Girl, I watched this with my friends and we were blown away. Rooney Mara is stunning as always – she has become one of my favourite actresses. I love the whole plot twists and interesting mindblowing scenes.

quote2

The Revenant (2015)
Watched this at the cinema and I loved it. It was beautifully shot, the whole setting and the cinematography was A++. The story itself plotwise was alright, but the acting was incredible, and so is the whole vibe. The only problem I think is that the whole movie could’ve been shorter and edited more so that people wouldn’t get a little too bored by the end. But overall a very award-worthy movie. And Leonardo’s acting is incredible, he certainly deserved that Oscar.

quote3

Brooklyn (2015)
Another movie famous in the award industry that I loved even though the plot wasn’t that amazing. I love the colors and the scenery in this movie, the characters were lovely and there were times when I’d tear up a little. The acting was wonderful and everything about it was just lovely to watch.

Actors & Actresses

Matt Damon
I don’t know why, I’ve been pretty much addicted to his movies in February. He was excellent in The Martian but I never really thought of him that much but I quite think he’s attractive and his acting is not that bad after all.

Paul Rudd
Again, another actor I would’ve usually thought of as okay, but after watching I Love You Man, I realized how much I love him! He was great in Parks and Rec, and I decided to watch more of his movies afterwards. Can’t wait to see more of him.

Bryan Cranston
He’s excellent so far in all the episodes of Breaking Bad. There were moments when I’d think while watching a scene of him: he’s so friggin good. And if some other actor had been chosen as Walter I don’t think the series would be as successful and loved as it is now. I can’t wait to watch more of his movies, especially his Oscar-nominated movie.

Worst

Well, these are all the movies and shows I watched in the first two months of the year! Which movies did you really enjoy this year so far? Are you a movie-goer? Did you like the Oscar-nominated movies? Share your thoughts and movies you watched or you want to watch in the comments!

Header image: MissSammieDesigns @ Folksy (x)

5 comments

  1. I really really need to see the Revenant, especially since it made it onto your favourites list. I’m glad you’re enjoying Breaking Bad – that’s probably my all time favourite TV show 🙂 What did you think of Gone Girl, if you’ve read the book? Does the movie live up to the amazingness of the book?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

