Sunday Updates: Haarlem and Popcorns

Hey everyone, happy Sunday (although it’s actually a Saturday lol)! It feels like it’s been forever since I’ve made a Sunday Updates post, but finally here I am to update you on my life! Sunday Updates is a weekly meme I created for myself to share with you the things I liked and enjoyed or places I visited that week (or the week before).

Last week I had my spring break, and I spent most of my time at home reading or sleeping over at my friends’ house cooking. But we did go to Amsterdam on one of the days for a day trip. We visited two bookstores but I didn’t buy any books, which sucks.

But there was this amazing store I went to that sells gourmet popcorn, and it’s amaaaaaazing. It’s called FOL Popcorn and they’re located on Leidsestraat near Amsterdam’s centrum. There are like at least a dozen different tastes and you can mix two different tastes in one package. It was quite pricey but the taste is excellent, and if you love popcorn like I do, you’ll probably love this.

2016-02-28 13.48.47

The kind of popcorn I got was white chocolate and caramel, and my friend bought the choconut which was also delicious.

This week, on Saturday, I went to Haarlem! Haarlem is a city in Holland near Amsterdam, it takes around an hour by train from my home to the city, and it’s my first trip there. I visited some monuments – the famous and really Dutch windmill called De Adriaan, and two museums: Corrie ten Boom Museum and Het Dolhuys Museum.

2016-02-28 13.48.472

Corrie ten Boom Museum is actually a house, owned by the ten Booms, who smuggled Jewish people inside their homes during World War II. It was a great museum, filled with heart-wrenching stories, and the best part is that there was an English guide, which you don’t see often in the Netherlands. I also just found out that there was a book by Corrie ten Boom herself, and now I wanna read it! Another book added to the TBR list.

The windmill was great as well, we got to see the Spaarne River, and the other museum was also interesting, which was a mental asylum museum, where they give a lot of information about mental illnesses, and the history of asylums around the world and especially in the Netherlands.

2016-02-28 13.48.473

Favourite movie of the week I watched is probably Brooklyn. It’s beautifully written, visually gorgeous, and Saoirse Ronan’s acting is just amazing. I’m also continuing my effort to watch the whole 9 seasons of The X-Files. I’m currently on the second season, and so far I prefer the first season! But it’s still quite fun to watch. But this is just a sneak peak to a wrap up of the movies and shows I watch on the first two months of the year, which I posted last week, so check out that post for more movies. 

Another thing that’s been super fun lately is this project I’ve been working on since the middle of February, and I think it’s super fun once you see the end result! It’s an app for your phone called 1 Second Everyday, where you collect one second of your life every single day, and the app will combine them into this montage of basically your daily life, like a very audio-visual diary! It’s super fun and I can’t wait to see how it looks like after 6 months or something. Totally recommend if you like those kind of apps.

Well that was mostly it for this Sunday Updates! How has your week been? What cities do you like to visit on the weekends? Do you like popcorn? Share to us how your week went on the comments!

instagram logo   tumblr logo   twitter logo

2 comments

  1. Those photos are gorgeous! Glad you had a great spring break! I’m currently on mine now, but I’m just staying home and relaxing. Sometimes you just need a break from all that work!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

