Reading from the 100 Books List

You might not notice it but I made a page on my blog several months ago consisting of the 100 Books in BBC’s The Big Top Read Top 100 Books List, which are favourite books voted by people.

My general goal is to read 75 books from that book in the next 5 years, which means  that in 2020 the bolded books in that list would be more than 75. So far my count is at 29, which is basically less than halfway there.

I’m not sure if I’ll be able to reach that 75 count goal, but I sure can try! I’m hoping I can actually set a goal to read at least one book from that list each month, or even spend an entire month only reading books from this list! This is a great way to expand my genres and also to read books that are really popular that I have always wanted to read but never got the motivation to.

In the meantime, here are several books from the list that I want to read in the near future:

cover1  cover2

cover3  cover4

cover5

  • Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
  • The Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger
  • Animal Farm by George Orwell
  • anything by Jacqueline Wilson
  • Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier
  • Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

Have you read any of the books I mentioned above? How many books from the 100 Books list have you read? Let me know in the comments and also maybe recommend which book I can read first from the list! 😀

instagram logo  tumblr logo  twitter logo

Header image credit: Can Stock Photo

29 comments

  1. This is such an excellent idea for a challenge!! By pure fluke I’ve read 59 of these- but I always find lists where I’ve read very few of them- I really think it would be good to do something like this!! Those are great books from the list to read next 😀 I particularly love Wuthering Heights

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is such an awesome goal!! I was meant to being read a classic a month this year and yet we’re in March and I still haven’t cracked a classic! Shot me now! Have a good time with those books 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I read Wuthering Heights years ago. (Hope you enjoy that one, btw!) I’m not a huge fan of 19th century literature, mostly because the writing style doesn’t appeal to me, but this was one of the few I liked. Jane Eyre is my favorite from that period, though, so I was glad to see that on the list.

    As for what I’ve read from the list… 26 books so far. There are a couple on there that I’d like to read at some point, like Memoirs of a Geisha. Also, at the beginning, I was wondering why only the first four Harry Potter books were there, and not 5 through 7. Then I noticed the list was published in 2003. That explains it! lol

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve read 31 books on this list if my count is correct… I’ve got a long way to go! There are so many fantastic books on that list, though, so reading more shouldn’t be a chore. Happy reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I loved reading Watership Down – it made me cry and laugh at the same time, I wish you all the luck for completing your amazing challenge! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’ve read 75 books from the list but only because my friend and I were competing to see who could read them all first. She won! I really love Rebecca but Catcher in the Rye isn’t one I’ve read yet. I Capture the Castle is great though, I hope you like that when you get to it!

    Like

  7. That’s an amazing goal! I’ve started getting back into classics as well, but it’s been hard because I mostly read for the blog and classics and YA lit don’t necessarily mix >_<. I’ve read 4 of the 5 of these and while I think that Catcher in the Rye relates more to YA lit, Animal Farm is probably my favorite. Granted, I do think that Animal Farm is highly overrated, but it has some great themes about what humanity is and how power relates to it. Hope you enjoy these!

    Eli @ The Silver Words
    #commenting365

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Seems I e read 41 from this list. There are a few more I’d like to read like Grapes of Wrath but quite a number I have no interest in and am surprised to even see on the list like Kane and Abel. From your selection here I can strongly recommend of Mice and Men. For such a short tale it is vary thought provoking.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This list is compiled of all the favourite books of some people, and I do agree the selection is quite varied 😄
      I really liked Grapes of Wrath and I can’t wait to read Of Mice and Men.

      Like

  9. I’ve read 33 of the 100 books. I’m pretty pleased! As for your choices, I thought Animal Farm was amusing; Wuthering heights I read a LONG time ago and loved it (during my romantic phase); I hated The Catcher in the Rye, but I’m an anomaly, most people love it. Enjoy them!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I sort of have a love-hate relationship with Catcher in the Rye. I remember hating it, yet it’s one of those books that struck me for a long time. It’s one of those angsty novels that you’d get depressed reading, but that’s just me.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. That’s such a great challenge that you set for yourself! It looks like I’ve read 45 from the 100 books list; I have so many of these on my TBR too. I’d highly recommend Good Omens and The God of Small Things 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I’ve read Animal Farm and Catcher in the Rye, two books that I love very much! I hope you enjoy them; I’d be interested to hear your thoughts on Catcher in the Rye because people either hate it or love it (and I think either is completely justified)!

    I’ve read 22 of the books listed. I want to read more of the Classics, especially Count of Monte Cristo (I’ve heard it’s amazing!) Maybe I should incorporate them into my reading goals this year. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

