The Pastry Book Tag

Super late, and I don’t do these tags that much anymore, but thank you The Orangutan Librarian for tagging me! I love all kinds of pastry so here we go!

feather22

Croissant: Name a popular book or series that everyone (including you) love.

This a very recent read for me and my first 5-star read in 2016, I absolutely loved it and I now understand why so many people recommended it to me! A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness is such a beautifully written and beautifully illustrated book. Plus, it made me cry like a baby which is always a plus point.

feather22

Macaron: Name a book that was hard to get through but worth it at the end.

cover1

I got I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban by Malala Yousafzai from my aunt and at first I was like, who is this person? It’s not the type of books I normally read. And I had to admit, some parts especially the early middle parts were slow and kind of hard to get through. But the overall book was very inspiring and I really enjoyed the whole book itself. Malala became one of my heroes, even though she’s practically my age! Definitely recommend to everyone.

feather22

Vol-au-vent: Name a book that you thought would be amazing but fell flat.

cover2

I’ve mentioned this several times, but The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho totally disappointed me. I had heard so many good things about it, but the whole story was just annoying and not inspiring for me. I even made a review about it which you can check out here.

feather22

Pain au Chocolat: Name a book that you thought would be one thing but turned out to be something else.

cover4

I borrowed Cell by Stephen King at my university library after loving The Shining and wanting something similar. It turns out Cell was less of a paranormal slash horror novel and more of a thriller slash gorey novel. Doesn’t mean that I didn’t like it, but it was different than I expected.

feather22

Profiterole: Name a book or series that doesn’t get enough attention.

Artemis Fowl!!! Eoin Colfer is such an underrated writer, his series is amazing and I would recommend to anyone at any age or with any gender. I basically worshipped it when I was a preteen because of its complex characters and witty writing style, and if I have the time and space to reread the whole series, I would gladly do it.

feather22

Croquembouche: Name a book or series that’s extremely complex.

cover3

I would say Artemis Fowl again but what’s the fun in that? Instead I’ll say the Ender Quintet by Orson Scott Card. You might probably have heard of the first book, Ender’s Game, which was an amazing book and was made into an almost equally amazing movie, but not many people would mention the next three books of the series. As the book progressed so did the characters and the plot, and by the time I reached the fourth book I felt a little mixed up with the time traveling and the space traveling and the whole characters located on different planets thing. But it was still quite amazing.

feather22

Napoleon: Name a movie or TV show based off a book that you liked better than the book itself.

Something I’ve mentioned before as well, but I thought that The Martian movie was better than its novel, written by Andy Weir. I just thought the movie was funnier, more exciting, and explored more characterization than the book itself. Not to mention Matt Damon ❤ Is there anything left to add?

feather22

Empanada: Name a book that was bittersweet.

cover5

A very common choice but I’m gonna choose The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. Of course you all know why it’s bitter,but I also think it’s quite sweet, not just because of the romance but also because of the friendship. And John Green’s writing is fabulous.

feather22

Kolompeh: Name a book or series that takes place somewhere other than your home country.

Another recent read that I absolutely adored, We Were Liars by E. Lockhart is set in a private island in USA. Definitely far from my home country, Indonesia! Although we do have a lot of tropical islands, and when I read this marvelous book I’d think about that place and the vibes of spending my vacation under the warm sun.

feather22

Pate A Choux: Name one food from a book or series that you would like to try.

Butterbeer and chocolate frogs from the Harry Potter series of course! One of the reasons why I wanna go to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter someday, other than the sheer fact that Harry Potter is my life. And the food in the Chronicles of Narnia are amazing, especially those in the last book I think, where they had a huge royal feast.

booktags

Well that was all the questions I have for this tag! Thanks for reading! Any thoughts on the books I chose? Which kind of pastry do you like the most? My favourite is probably macarons, I’ve actually tried making one at home and I succeeded in having those little feet! For this tag I won’t tag anyone because most of you have probably done it before anyway, but if you want to do it, go ahead and do it, and don’t forget to mention me in the post! Anyways, see you all in my next post, and have a great day!

instagram logo   tumblr logo   twitter logo

Header image by Alexandra Nea

11 comments

  1. Awesome that you did this- especially since you don’t do them much anymore 🙂 I loved your answers! I have a copy of Malala’s book somewhere but haven’t got round to reading it cos I don’t tend to read biographies- but since you rate it so highly I might give it a chance after all!! And I loved We Were Liars too!! and mmm butterbeer would be lovely! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

