Five Reasons Why You Should Read A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Welcome back to my Five Things Series, where I review books I read through a list of only five things! This is just a way for me to be able to deliver my thoughts on a book in a proper post but not wanting to make a full-length review about it. This time I wanna talk about A Monster Calls, a middle-grade novel written by the award-winning Patrick Ness, and my first 5-star book in 2016.

If you haven’t read the book yet, this is a post to convince you to read it! Not to mention the fact that the movie adaptation will be released soon. If you have read the book, I’m sure you’ll agree with the five things I mentioned in here.

One. Gorgeous illustrations.

Let’s just take a moment to look at that beautiful cover design. Now imagine much more beautiful illustrations like those in the cover, all over the pages in the book. That is A Monster Calls. Jim Kay is basically amazing. I love the black-and-white illustrations, and the texture of some of the paintings that look like they weren’t just made my paintbrushes. It makes the book much more better and gives it that spooky mysterious-y vibe which I love.

cover4

Two. It’s short but you’ll want more when you’re done.

It’s merely a 200-something novel with lots of pictures and a smaller size. But man does it pack a huge punch. You’ll devour every single page without wanting your eyes to leave the book, and by the time you finish you’ll wish it has more pages. It’s really that good.

Three. Patrick Ness’s writing is so good you feel like you want your life to be narrated by him.

If you’ve read the Knife of Never Letting Go series, you’ll know what I’m talking about. Patrick Ness has become one of my favourite YA authors out there, because he’s not like any other YA authors. His writing is literally heartbreaking and so beautiful I want to read his words every single day.

quote2There was once an invisible man who had grown tired of being unseen. It was not that he was actually invisible. It was that people had become used to not seeing him.
And if no one sees you, are you really there at all?

Four. You’ll get your heart broken.

Like I said, Patrick Ness is a masterpiece, and this book brings a huge punch. And despite the small size of this book, if you didn’t cry while reading this book, you’re probably a heartless human being or you’re not a human being at all. So yes, prepare a box of tissues before you dive into this book.

Five. It’s not just a middle grade novel.

Is it a graphic novel? Is it a middle grade book? Is it a novella? Is it for adults? You don’t really know. It doesn’t really matter because although the main character is young, and although the book is intended for younger audiences, anyone at all ages will love this book no matter what.

5 stars

bookreview

If these five reasons are not enough for you to be persuaded to get out of the internet and read the book, I don’t know what else will. All I just want to say is that you’re missing out on something amazing and you’ll probably regret it for the rest of your life. So go ahead and read A Monster Calls right now, and let me what you think about it in the comments below!

instagram logo   tumblr logo   twitter logo

 

 

20 comments

  1. Agreed with all the reasons! Though when I read it, I didn’t read the illustrated version… I do feel like I’ve missed out on something super big and awesome though. (And now I have to find an illustrated version somewhere, somehow…)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve read only More Than This, and was left disappointed by how it ended. However, it hasn’t made me oppose trying out any more of his works. I’m torn between The Knife of Never Letting Go, and this one — I think I’d be safer with A Monster Calls, so thanks for the little push to get me there!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

