Top Ten Tuesday: Witty Books

Woah it’s been months since I’ve done a TTT! I’ve tried to post more original content and such instead of focusing on memes, but I thought why not do one this month? Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish, and this week’s topic is Top Ten Books That Makes You Laugh, but I tweaked it a little bit and changed it into my Top Ten Witty Books!

I love books that are written in a witty style and makes the reader not necessarily laugh, but at the very least feel entertained. Here are some of the books that made me feel that way, or books with characters that are just so full of wit! These books are in no particular order.

Top Witty Books I Have Read

Hoot by Carl Hiaasen

cover1

This was a favourite for me when I was a teenager. I don’t know why, but the story of boys running around and alligators in toilets and owls are just really fun to read for me. Come to think of it again now, I don’t think I remember that clearly what this book is really about. But I do remember how fun it was to read it.

Artemis Fowl series by Eoin Colfer

One of my favourite series ever, and the main reason why I love this series so much is because of the amazingness of Eoin Colfer’s writing. It’s basically super duper witty, and granted, there are a lot of serious parts in the book, but there are also dozens of moments that just made me smile and the witty dialogues involving Artemis Fowl or other several hilarious characters are just precious. It’s the kind of humour I love in books. I wish there are more books with the similar kind of funny.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell (review)

cover2

I think for this book it’s not about the whole writing style really but the character Cathy herself. She has this dry humour, and you can just tell that she’s smart. Her and other characters’ sarcasm, the conversations between Cathy and Levi with them bantering, I just can’t help but add this novel in my list.

White Teeth by Zadie Smith (short review)

cover3

This is the most recent read from the list and I just really enjoyed this novel because of its humour. It’s not that kind of laugh out loud humour, but again like some of the books above, there’s moments and lines that just make me chuckle. And of course a lot of smart wittiness that’s really fun to read.

Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan

Again with the sarcastic and smart characters! I really love the series because of Percy’s point of view, and how hilarious he is. I do think Percy is witty – he’s smart in his own way and the series show how funny he is, although he can also be sincere. And also, a lot of cute witty banter between Percy and Annabeth which I adore.

The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Through the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson

cover4

This is basically a humour book, although I don’t think I found it as funny as I had hoped it would be. It really is entertaining though, and some of the scenes in this book I really enjoy because of its humour and spontaneity.

Flour Babies by Anne Fine

cover5

This is a book that I haven’t read in ages, but I do remember having a great fun reading it. Filled with great scenes and fun narration, Anne Fine is most famous for Mrs Doubtfire but I really liked this novel from her as well.

Witty Books I Have Yet To Read

You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost) by Felicia Day

This is a hilarious book written by and about Felicia Day, an internet icon, actress, and overall hilarious person. She’s such a quirky and sarcastic woman who can really engage her readers to laugh at her life and pain while also learning something about it. I’m still halfway through this book but I love reading her memoir so far, it’s such a funny book.

Welcome to Night Vale by Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor

cover6

I really had fun listening to the podcast of the same title on my phone a few years ago – I’ve only listened to the earlier dozen or so episodes but I really liked its humour and wittiness! I can’t wait to see it in written form, I’m sure it’ll be just as fun.

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

I kept saying for years and years that I want to read this book, but I never gotten round to it. I have watched the movie and thoroughly enjoyed it – very witty and has some awesome humour, which I know I will love in the book as well.

instagram logo  tumblr logo  twitter logo

goodreads

Well, these are the top ten books that would make you laugh, or at least smile! What are the books that have stuck to you because of its humor? Tell me about them in the comments down below!

11 comments

Leave a Comment

