Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon: To Be Read and To Be Eaten

Two readathons in the same month, Ayunda? Are you sure? Oh yeah!!! This time I am bringing to you a sign up and TBR post for a readathon that is super popular and will be happening really soon: the Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon! In this readathon, for 24 hours we will be reading books and posting our updates on various social medias. There will be mini challenges and cheering and stuff like that, but as a newbie for now I’m just signing up as a reader! For more info on the readathon, check out their Twitter and Website.

feather20

The readathon takes place on April 23rd, 2 PM my time until April 24th, 2 PM. I am so excited to do this readathon, because it’s only in 24 hours, and I love readathons! I did do the TBR Takedown readathon at the beginning of April for three days. This would be a sort of shortened version of it. (Also look at how spring-y my header is today!)

   

For this readathon, since it only takes less than a day, my TBR for it is just one book, and that book is How to be Both by Ali Smith. I bought this book recently and I’m looking forward to reading it. I do however plan on reading something else in between, so I might also sneak in a short story or two from Rabindranath Tagore‘s short story collection, The Hungry Stones and Other Stories.

feather20

Other than that, since I’m a huge foodie and reading is always better with your mouth moving as you much on food, here are the snacks I plan to eat during my readathon:

  • a cup of tea, of course
  • cookies!
  • crackers
  • gummy bears
  • maybe a cup of coffee as well to wake me up at night

As you can see, the trend going on in this snack list is mostly sweet stuff. I do like salty snacks, but at the moment I’m in the kick for munching something sweet.

feather20

Here are also my plans for the readathon, since I love making schedules and plans and not sticking to it!

  • 14.00-15.00: start reading
  • 15.00-16.00: prepare some snacks
  • 16.00-20.00: reading
  • 20.00-21.00: dinner
  • 21.00-00.00: reading
  • 00.00-06.30: sleep
  • 06.30-08.00: reading
  • 08.00-09.00: breakfast
  • 09.00-14.00: reading

So basically, my plan is to read until around midnight (hopefully I can stay up late, since I’m usually already fast asleep by 10 o’clock. I also really want to wake up early so I can start reading early. In total I hope I can read up to 10 hours out of the 24 hours I have. I also really really hope there won’t be any emergency situations where I have to go out of the house or go to events outside, because those interruptions are usually what makes me read less in readathons.

feather20

Well, that’s it for this sign up post! I really hope I can finish at least one book or more, and have a lot of fun. I will be updating super regularly (maybe once every hour or so) in my Twitter and I will also post a wrap up at the end of the readathon to show you what I read and what I thought about them.

instagram logo  tumblr logo  twitter logo

goodreads

What about you guys, are you participating in this readathon? What are your tips and tactics on reading more during readathons? What kind of snacks do you usually eat while reading? Let me know down below in the comments, and happy reading!

12 comments

  1. Good luck with your read-a-thon 😀 I can never manage to snack when I’m reading because I get so invested so I forget to eat – but your food line up seems so delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I had a great time and I ate so many things! Mostly tea though, because even if I only drink tea alone it can make my stomach happy. ☺️ My readathon wrap up will be posted soon!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

