Bookaholics Anonymous Tag

Hey everyone and welcome back to my blog, Tea and Paperbacks! I’m Ayunda, and today I realized that over a month has passed since the last time I posted a book tag, which is quite interesting! I feel like it’s both a conscious decision to try and post more original content on the blog, but also unconscious because who doesn’t love book tags? Anyway, I was recently tagged by Rose @ Rose Read for this book tag, and I’m just gonna jump straight into the questions.

feather11

1. What do you like about buying new books?

The smell, the feel of the smooth unopened pages, and the fact that I actually own that book is basically enough for me to be happy after buying a new book.

2. How often do you buy new books?

I try to order two or less per month, but sometimes I’d go to Amsterdam and explore the secondhand bookstores there, or find an amazing buy and I’d immediately buy it.

feather11

3. Bookstore or online book shopping – which do you prefer?

Bookstore, although most of the time nowadays I’d browse through an online bookstore first and decide what I really wanna buy, then go to the bookstore to buy it. But for the whole vibe of it, I’d say bookstores.

4. Do you have a favorite bookshop?

There are three bookshops near my area, which is amazing, but two of them sell a majority of Dutch books so my favourite is probably the one that sells most English books. The name of the bookstore is the American Book Center, which is a famous bookstore in the Netherlands. I also could spend hours in their secondhand area upstairs.

feather11

5. Do you preorder books?

Not that often, I didn’t preorder a single book for the last two years and only ordered one this year.

6. Do you have a monthly book buying limit?

I try to not buy more than 3 books a month, but some months I won’t buy a single books and other months I’d buy 5 books but they’d all be good bargains so no, I don’t have a specific limit.

feather11

7. Book buying bans – Are they something for you?

Nope. It feels a little like a diet, that moment when you’d eat healthy or less for a whole month and then have a “cheat day” where you can eat basically anything for a day. Which makes me feel like you’re basically just keeping all your urge to buy books pent up inside and in the end it will burst out and give horrible effects to you. I just believe in self preservation and the penniless situation of uni students lol.

8. How big is your wishlist?

Huuuuugeeee. My TBR shelf isn’t that big, but my Book Depository wishlist is considered large for me. I recently did a TBR Unhaul post though, where I browse through my wishlists and remove books that I feel like I don’t wanna read or buy anymore.

feather11

9. Which three books from your wishlist do you wish to own NOW?

  1. The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton
  2. Night Film by Marisha Pessl
  3. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone Illustrated Edition by JK Rowling

10. Tagging?

I’m not in the mood to tag anyone, so I’ll just tag YOU if you want to do this tag!

booktags

instagram logo   tumblr logo   twitter logo

Header image by Helga McL @ Etsy

9 comments

  1. If I did this tag, all my answers would be extremely pitiful since I’m definitely a bookaholic/book hoarder/compulsive book buyer. I don’t really have a limit to how many books I buy (well I do in a sense because I don’t have unlimited money either, lol) just because I tend to purchase books that are only on sale (in the bargain sections-and those tend to be only a couple of dollars anyway so I’m not breaking my bank or anything). I also love buying new books because of their physical characteristics as well. I actually used to be a huge library goer but my local one wouldn’t get new books and their old ones would smell strongly of tobacco, which I sort of disliked. Anyway, interesting answers, Ayunda!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

