Bookstagram!

Hi everyone, how has your week been? Welcome back to my blog, Tea and Paperbacks! In this post I just wanna give a small announcement to you guys and to ask for your opinions about something that is probably very familiar to you all: bookstagram.

For those of you who don’t know, a bookstagram is an Instagram account focusing on books as their content. I’ve seen and followed so many bookstagrammers ever since I joined Instagram years and years ago, but recently the community has really expanded and you can really see a lot of excellent accounts.

Screen Shot 2016-05-14 at 8.27.06 PM

In the past I would post book-related posts on my personal Instagram, @ayundabs. But I have finally decided that I would create a new Instagram account that is solely related to books. Therefore, I created @teaandpaperbacks! It’s a new bookstagram account I made, and I hope you all will check out my profile and give me a follow or some likes. I’m still trying to gain more followers since I’m very new, but I hope you’d trust me that I will post high quality posts for the pleasure of your Instagram feed!

Screen Shot 2016-05-14 at 8.27.00 PM

One of my biggest concerns is for me to run out of material to post, as in I don’t have enough bookish photos for me to post regularly on the account. Especially since I don’t own that many books anyways and I rarely buy new books so I’d never post a book haul or anything. So if you have any thoughts and tips, don’t hesitate to let me know!

Let me know your thoughts on bookstagram – do you own one, or do you only have a personal account? Who are your favourite bookstagram accounts? What’s your account? Follow me and I’ll follow you back! And any tips for book photography and general tips for maintaining a successful Instagram account? Let’s talk about it in the comments πŸ™‚

instagram logoΒ Β tumblr logoΒ Β twitter logo

goodreads

22 comments

  1. I started bookstagramming about 6 months ago and it’s so much fun! I’m a terrible photographer but I love seeing everyone’s books. I just followed you, your pictures are really pretty πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I created an instagram account a year ago but I could not find what to post. Then I discovered the bookstagram community and since then I’ve been using the account linked to my blog. I’ve been in an instaslump lately, but I’ve signed up for a challenge in June. It usually helps getting to know more people and gaining followers. It works a little like memes. My pics are not great, and like you, I don’t have many books or buy lots of them regularly, which make posting a little harder, but it’s fun (when you find the inspiration!). Anyway, I’ll go and follow you πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Heeeey! Bookstagram buddy! I don’t buy a lot of books either so I don’t feel the need to post hauls and tbr’s because a lot of books I read are either digital or borrowed.

    Bookstagram is a really weird place to be honest. If you post about books that are not very famous, it will hardly get any likes but if you post books that EVERYONE knows about they will be received with open arms. I find that a bit negative as there is no room for new books to gain popularity but maybe I’m wrong πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Interesting! I don’t post that many so I can’t really compare, but it’s kinda sad if it is true 😒 I personally would like the picture whether it is a famous book or not. But maybe it’s because more people relate to the photo if it’s a popular book that they recognize.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t have a Bookstagram, so I can’t add to your follower account or give you any tips–but I have to say, the photos you posted here are gorgeous. I doubt you’ll have a hard time finding a devoted following! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. im afraid you’re asking the wrong person here since I don’t have an Instagram account. I can just about keep up with the blog but am very it and miss with other social media accounts like Twitter and PinInterest. Just not enough hours in the day

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, I totally get what you mean. I sometimes feel like I don’t have time to have all these accounts myself! But for the moment I’m just focusing on my blog and the Instagram is just a side thing!

      Like

Leave a Comment

