My Biggest Book Hangovers

Good evening everyone, and welcome back to my blog, Tea and Paperbacks! Today I am super confused about what post I would like to write, and then I stumbled across this idea and realized that I have a lot of book hangovers. If any of you don’t know a book hangover is a book that is so good (or bad) that sticks to your mind and heart so much that you are just unable to read any other book after you finish that book, and you keep thinking about that book even after your finish it.

Anyways, here are some of the books that fit to that criteria.

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart (review)

cover1

A very recent read and a book I’ve raved about alot in this blog. I really enjoyed this book, and the ending was spectacular. I couldn’t stop thinking about it.

The Secret History by Donna Tartt (review)

Ugh this book got me so good. It twisted my mind around and around and made me feel so hollow inside – in a good way. But yeah, it’s such a well written novel and when I finished it, I was just like, how can someone write something this good? And for weeks afterwards I just kept thinking about it.

Artemis Fowl and the Last Guardian by Eoin Colfer

cover2

Last books of a series will always get you real bad. In this case, I was bawling and sobbing by the time the book ended, but afterwards I could still think about the amazingness of this novel and the whole series and as a result, I couldn’t really read another book after reading this one. All I wanted was reread the whole series again.

The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan

cover3

All I can say about this book hangover is the ending. Like, the all famous cliffhanger ending which everyone hated so much after reading. If you read this recently, you’re so lucky because after you read MoA you can immediately continue to read the next book. Unfortunately for me, I read the book after it was published, which meant that after I finished this book, I had to wait for a year for the continuation to be released. It was a horrible waiting period and this book left a huge hangover for me.

Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

This book blew my mind and I was unable to function for days after I finished reading it. All I could think about was, I really wanna reread it!!! And I didn’t reread it of course, but I did reread some parts from the book that I highlighted (not literally, because who would do such a thing to such a beautiful book?), and I just tried my best not to think about the book too much.

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

cover4

A very beautifully written book, this was a book I read a long time ago but I just loved it so much it kept coming back to my mind even after I finished reading it. I tried to stop that hangover by watching the movie adaptation after finishing the book. I am sad to say that it did not help with the hangover and only prolonged it.

Well, those were some of the books that I couldn’t stop thinking about after finishing, and books that gave me a horribly strong impact (just like a hangover). What are your biggest book hangovers? How do you destroy that horrible feeling? Share it to me down below in the comments. Until next time, see you all later!

instagram logo  tumblr logo  twitter logo

goodreads

9 comments

Leave a Comment

