Summer Holidays TBR!

The summer holidays are coming, and I’m so excited to just lie down in my couch at home from morning till evening and just reaaaaaaaad! And of course watch movies, have picnics outside, go to the beach, or maybe go get a part-time job, but mostly reading!

So after I calculated it, I have roughly 10 weeks of basically free time and no studying. That is a solid number, so I’ve chosen several books I plan on reading in summer! Here they are.

1. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

cover1

This is the ultimate summer book, according to many people, and I’ve wanted to read this book for a long time. It is even one of the seven top books I want to read in 2016! A light contemporary novel about the disappearance of a friend and how the main character completes the friend’s bucket list throughout the summer. So this time of the year seems like the perfect time to read it.

2. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

Most of you probably already read this when you were younger, but this is the first book in a children’s series about a cast of children traveling through different dimensions. I planned on rereading this series this year, because I don’t remember much about this interesting series, unlike the other childhood reads such as Narnia or Inkheart that I remember very vividly. I think it’ll be fun to read the whole series this summer.

3. There But For The by Ali Smith

cover2

I read Ali Smith for the first time in April this year, and I really liked her. So I plan on reading more books by her, starting from the one book I have of her, There But For The! I’m not really sure what this book is about, so I think I’m just gonna go into the book blindly and hope for the best.

4. The Little Friend by Donna Tartt

Another not-so-new author for me, I loved Donna Tartt so much when I read her two books last year, The Secret History and The Goldfinch. This is her less-popular novel, and again I don’t really know what this book is, but I think I’m gonna love it as well!

5. Candide by Voltaire

cover3

As I mentioned in one of my Sunday Updates, I bought this gorgeous book in Paris, France on my trip there. I wasn’t even planning on reading anything by Voltaire before I bought this book, but I was in a French mood, and I saw his tomb under the Pantheon in Paris, and I was tempted to buy this one because of that. Not to mention, the edition I bought is so cute, and I know reading it would be more fun that way.

6. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

cover4

I really liked Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, which I read in the first month of 2016. So it’s natural for me to want to read her second well-known book, Eleanor and Park! I heard it’s just a cute and fun read with adorable high school romance, which will be perfect to read in the beach!

7. Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

I have told you all in a post somewhere before, but I have never read a book by Gillian Flynn! Which is an abomination because I loved Gone Girl so much. So I thought I need to start immediately, and what better time to read a psychological thriller than in the summer? I chose Dark Places because I heard great things about it, plus the movie is coming out soon, so I hope I can read it before then and not be too spoiled for the movie like I did for Gone Girl. As far as I know, this novel involves killing gangs, the death of the family of the main character when she was young, and a twisted ending.

8. The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

cover5

I am currently reading Angels and Demons (although by the time this post is published I might have already read it), and I really like it so far. It’s like a perfect combination of science, religion, thriller, murder, historical fiction, and fast-paced action, which is like perfect for me! I think I’ll really fly through the second book of the series this holidays.

Well, those are all the eight books I really wanna get to this summer. I doubt I’ll be able to read them all, and maybe somewhere along the line I’ll be interested in other books instead of these. But let me know which one of these do you recommend the most!

instagram logo  tumblr logo  twitter logo

goodreads

17 comments

  1. What fun! I just finally committed to some summer plans, and now I’m excited to put together my reading list! 🙂 You have some great books coming up. The only thing I’d mention is that Eleanor & Park isn’t really light and cute — it’s a wonderful book, but actually gets really heavy. You should still read it! Just, if you want to stay light for summer reading, maybe consider holding off on E&P till you’re ready for emotional turmoil. Anyway… happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

