Day: May 3, 2017

April Wrap Up and May TBR

April has gone by in a flash, and suddenly it’s already the first week of May! Last month I was quite busy with exams and projects, so as a result I only finished two novels in April. It wasn’t a very good reading month for me, but I can’t wait to share it with you. Here they are!

Books Read In April

The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan (buy)

30115958

The Hidden Oracle is the first book in Rick Riordan’s new series set in the same Percy Jackson universe, but this time it’s focused on the god Apollo who was cursed to live as a teenage mortal by Zeus. Unfortunately I disliked this book. It was mostly because of the annoying main character. The plot was similar to Riordan’s other books I’ve known to love, filled with action and hilarious moments and sometimes even touching ones. However the character just bugged me and in the end I did finish the book, though it got heavier and heavier as I continued to read it.

2 stars

Mr Fox by Helen Oyeyemi (buy)

11093751

One of the books I saw a lot in the online book community, this novel is a magical story focusing on three characters, Mr Fox, his wife and Mary Foxe. It’s a combination of stories, a lot like a collection of short stories that are related to each other. I liked the writing and the idea itself, but I sort of felt detached as I was reading it. After I finished it, I found that I couldn’t really relate to the characters and I forgot most of what actually happened in the book. I guess it’s just not for me.

2.5 stars

Books I’m Currently Reading

How to Talk to Anyone, Anytime, Anywhere by Larry King (buy)

35211

This non fiction book is definitely not something I had been planning to pick up, or something that I am usually interested in. But I found that I’m such an introvert that at social situations, I will be just left standing alone in the corner and not talking to anyone, especially in large groups. And since my boyfriend is a public speaker and a psychology major, he nudged me to read this to improve my social skills. I’m around 40% into it.

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte (buy)

7065549

I was in the mood for a classic, and I realized that it’s been ages since I read one. I decided to read a book by Bronte, since I read Jane Eyre when I was in high school and loved it, and I figured I’d enjoy a novel by another Bronte sister. I’m already around 60% through the book. It was a little slow and hard to get into in the beginning, but I began to know the characters and know who is who after a while. So far the story is okay, and the characters aren’t very lovable, but it’s quite interesting so far.

Books To Read in May

  • The Good People by Hannah Kent. I bought this book recently and since then I’ve been dying to read it!
  • Something by John Grisham. It’s been ages since I’ve read a John Grisham book, I used to love them because his paperbacks were everywhere at home since my mom loved him so much. So I think I’m gonna give him another go, I just love a fast-paced, intriguing law thriller.

So those are the books I read, currently reading, and planning on reading! I don’t have a very set TBR since I don’t know if I’ll be able to read much this month, what with university, my social life, and also going traveling for a week in the middle of May. But wish me luck, and hopefully the books I read in the next month will also be better and more enjoyable.

Comment on this post about your thoughts on the books I read and whether you think I’ll like the books I’m currently reading. Talk to you in my next post!

goodreadsbookdepository

