I’m Back! What Happened in the Past 9 Months

So, as you may have noticed, after a nine month long hiatus on this blog, I have suddenly reappeared! For those of you who are new and just found my blog, hello! My name is Ayunda. I’m a lover of books and I created this book blog in August 2015 to channel my thoughts on books I read and to meet more people who love books as much as I do. You might find my blog from the book tag that I created, the This or That Book Tag. In June 2016, I found that I was overwhelmed with maintaining a blog, and therefore I decided to take a break from posting here. And now, in May 2017, I’m back to post new content and catch up with the whole book blogging community! So I know a lot of things have happened in the past 9 months that I’m not aware of. Here are the things that happened to me in the past 9 months!

feather9

Why did you take a break?

As you can read from this brief post, I took a break from blogging because I wanted to focus on my university and because I don’t have the time to write, design, and post posts in this blog. I was on an internship (which is full time) for 5 months, and I didn’t have much free time, except at nights where I was exhausted and on the weekends where I’d spend it on hanging out with my friends, resting at home, or reading!

Why did you come back?

I got back from my full time internship on January and went back to my regular classes at university. I have thought about blogging again during those two months, but I felt like I still need more time to focus on my studies. But lately I’ve been thinking about how I really wanna write posts about books again, and I was reminded of how much fun I had interacting with other book bloggers and discovering new books from this blog. So I thought, why not!

feather9

How has your reading habit changed in the past 9 months?

To be honest, I think it has worsened. When I had a blog I was very pushed to read more books, averaging at 3-5 books per month. After I stopped blogging, I do still read a lot, and update on my Goodreads, but maybe because of the lack of motivation from fellow book lovers, most of the months passed by with me reading only 1-3 books. It’s not that bad, and I read a lot of great books in the past 9 months, but I need to increase that book count again!

How has your LIFE changed in the past 9 months?

A lot of things happened during my blogging break. My internship was quite life-changing, it gave me an insight on what to look forward to after I graduate and what it feels like to have a full time job. If you’re interested more in my study and other things related to that, let me know in the comments!

Other than that, I alsoΒ am now in a relationship. My boyfriend is a lovely person who I care about so much. Unfortunately he doesn’t like reading (he hasn’t even watched all the Harry Potter movies) and so it’s kind of hard to read together with him. He also takes a lot of my time I usually spend reading – which isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but just different.

I had a lot of ups and downs. I had troubles with my rented apartment – I was burgled some time before Christmas and lost my laptop, my Nook, and lots of other precious things. I also had some trouble with my neighbour. There were definitely times when I was stressed and tired and life wasn’t good. But there were also times when I had a lot of fun!

Travel-wise, I went to a lot of places in the past 9 months! As you might know, I love traveling and going to museums. I had a day trip to Antwerp, Brussels, and went for 3 days to Berlin.

As for my other hobbies, I did post a lot about movies in this blog. I read a lot of excellent movies, of course. I can’t list them all in this post, but you can check out my Letterboxd to find out my top-rated movies. Other hobbies I had in my life include trying to get back into writing, studying my ass off, scrapbooking, yoga, and playing Marvel Future Fight. So all in all, life’s been great!

feather9

What will be different in Tea and Paperbacks now that you’re back to posting?

I try to post similar content as I did before, posting at least once a week and posting various types of posts: wrap ups, book reviews, discussions, book tags, weekly memes, and participating in readathons. I will also try to post more about my personal life: my other hobbies, traveling, museums I visited, a little about my study, and more about Indonesia. In terms of being different, I have tried to make a different design for my images and make it simpler and cleaner. We’ll see what I can come up with.

Any notable books you read while you were on a break that you didn’t get a chance to share with us?

I think I will post lots of book reviews in the coming few months of the awesome books I read in the past 9 months, but some of the books that need to be mentioned are: Burial Rites by Hannah Kent, More Than This by Patrick Ness, The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton. I think I will post book reviews of most of the books I mentioned, and more! If you’re interested to see my rating of them, add me on Goodreads!

feather9

That’s practically the gist of my “comeback” in the bookish community. I can’t wait to start exploring and follow more blogs, reconnect with blogs I’ve been following, and basically do more bookish things! Let me know what I missed in the book blogging community while I was gone in the comments as well! Until next time and see you in my next post.

Β bookdepositorygoodreads

20 comments

  1. Aww welcome back!! πŸ˜€

    Looks like the break was much needed. I’d love to know what you’re studying and such, btw, if you’re interested in doing a post on it. And also on the museums. I enjoy visiting those too.
    Really sucks about the burglary. That happened to me once when I lived in an apartment. I was pissed and a bit frightened because my laptop was stolen and I wondered if the theives would steal my info.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad to know you’re back, just in time for me to start reading your blod too! πŸ™‚
    Also, congratulations on finishing your internship and finding a lovely human being to share your life with ❀
    I’m sorry to hear you had trouble with a burglar/your neighbor but thankfully everything turned out well.
    Best of luck returning to blogging! I know it can feel a bit overwhelming after being away for so long… Baby steps πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Wish me luck with all the blogging, but I do try to take it slow in the first months, maybe post 1-2 posts per week first and see how it goes after that πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m glad you’re interested, I do have some posts in mind on telling you guys more about my home country. I know that it’s not something a lot of people know extensively about.

      Like

  3. Welcome back to the fold! It’s almost like starting fresh when you return from a long hiatus, right? I had an extended one last year, too, when I was feeling way too overstimulated from work & life.

    Is everything going ok post-burgle? I hope you had renter’s insurance to cover your losses. ):

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! Yeah, it feels so fresh and exciting, but I feel like slipping into old shoes when it comes to writing the posts and all that πŸ˜€
      Yes, we did have insurance, but the shock is still there. It’s definitely not a fun experience…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

