Day: May 19, 2017

March and April 2017 Bimonthly Movie Wrap Up

Hello everyone, and welcome back to Tea and Paperbacks! Movies, movies, movies. I read a lot, but I think that movies are just an amazing way to escape the real life. Here are the movies I watched in March and April! I can’t believe the last Bimonthly Movie Wrap Up I posted was the March and April 2016 movies… If you’re wondering what movies I watched this past year, go and add me on Letterboxd!

March Movies

Movies watched: 14
Movies watched at the cinema: 2
Rewatches: 1

movies2movies3movies4

April Movies

Movies watched: 13
Movies watched at the cinema: 2
Rewatches: 5

movies5movies6movies7

TV Shows

movies8

  • Riverdale: keeping up with the episodes with my housemates and we’re soooo into it it’s just crazy!
  • 13 Reasons Why: I’ve only got to around episode 3, it’s a slow progress.
  • Angel Beats: finished it in a week because my boyfriend, an anime freak, forced me to watch it.
  • Brooklyn Nine-Nine: I binge-watched it through January and February and now I’m just waiting for each episode of the new season to come out.
  • New Girl: my boyfriend and I have been binge-watching the series from season 3 through the newest one all day long, it’s such a light and funny series and the characters are so hilarious and lovable.
  • Rick and Morty: again, another series I watched with my boyfriend, it’s hilariously smart and I can’t wait for the new season, whenever that is.

Highlights

Midnight in Paris (2011). I realized that I have a thing for Woody Allen’s movies, I loved this movie and the dialogues and the whole vibe it brings.

Moonlight (2016). This is yet another movie I watched at home because I missed it when it was at the cinema. I really liked it, actually. I don’t really know if it deserves all the awards and hype it has gotten, but I love the story and the cinematography and the acting. Sure, the story is basically straightforward and not complicated. But how the story unfolds, the small conflicts and the character development, was well constructed. I liked the dialogues (or lack of them), and the shots were just really really pretty. I also particularly liked the family themes it expressed.

Beauty and the Beast (2017). As a person who loooves Disney movies and had Belle as my favourite character because she also loves reading, I thought this remake was soooo good! Probably the best movie I watched in April, it’s exactly what I expected and wanted it to be and more. The songs made me choke at times, but it’s also not too copy-paste-ing the original movie, which was nice. The dialogues are great, characters were well introduced and well crafted, I liked the costumes and special effects, basically it was a great time.

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017). My boyfriend, being the marvel fan he is, was so psyched to watch the new Guardians of the Galaxy movie and so we rewatched the first one first to refresh our memories. I liked the first one, but I thought the second was even better! I liked the story and all the special effects, the characters are more developed and you can really see they tried to explore the relationships between each other. I felt like it could’ve been better in terms of directing – the music wasn’t as memorable as the first one, and there were too many pretty colors/lights and slow motion sequences. also a lot of cliched moments. however, it was fun and funny (waaay funnier than the first one, which I didn’t mind), and I LOVE BABY GROOT SO MUCH.

21 and 22 Jump Street (2012 & 2014). Rewatched these two movies with my boyfriend and his sister cause we wanted something fun and light. They were hilarious, I think the first one was one of the funniest humour movies I’ve watched? Maybe because I also don’t watch that many of them, and I don’t laugh at most of the humorous parts of a comedy for some reason. I do prefer comedy TV series than movies, but the casting here is just perfect.

So these are the movies I watched in the past 2 months! Which were your favourite movies in March and April? And do you like any of these movies and TV shows? Let me know in the comments! Until then, see you in my next post in Monday!

 bookdepository  goodreads