The Spring Has Sprung Book Tag

It’s spring! The flowers have blossomed in the trees and the weather is getting (slightly) warmer, despite the rain and wind in the cold Netherlands. So why not celebrate the coming of spring with a book tag?

I was tagged a year ago by Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions, so thank you so much! I try to vary the books I mention here with the books I’ve mentioned in other book tags, and most of them are books that I read in the last 9 months when I was inactive here, so hopefully you won’t get bored of my selection of books!

Flowers: Look on your bookshelves. What is the most beautiful book both inside and out?

23534757

My Life in Houses by Margaret Forster is a small pretty book that I found at the secondhand section of my bookstore. It has a simple cover but I really liked it, and the story inside is also sweet and entertaining.

Grass: What is a book that you find that others like way more than you do?

Unfortunately, I have to choose Mr Fox by Helen Oyeyemi. I heard so many good things from other people, but I ended up disliking it.

Rain: What’s a great book that lifts your spirits when you’re down?

18007564

I read The Martian by Andy Weir a long time ago but I remembered really liking it and lifting my spirits up! The main character is hilarious and so positive despite his situation.

Dew: What’s a book that made you feel alive?

I’m tweaking this question a little and going to choose another question. Down and Out in Paris and London by George Orwell is a book that makes me feel glad I’m alive. Orwell describes such sad states while he was living as a broke and penniless person, so it makes me really thankful.

17118897

Storms: What’s a book that you found unpredictable?

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn was quite unpredictable, another one is of course the all-famous And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie. Totally did not see the ending coming.

Rainbow: What was a book that you struggled with, only to be happy that you read it in the end?

The A Song of Ice and Fire series by George RR Martin, of course! Such a large book, it always takes me such a long time to finish, and the language is hard to digest, but I also enjoy reading it a lot.

Chilly Weather: What’s a book that you couldn’t finish or didn’t enjoy?

The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan was my recent dislike. I did finish it, but by the end I just wanted the whole thing to be over, sorry.

Warm Weather: What’s a book that you loved and wanted more of?

15764465

The Dinner by Herman Koch is a recent book that is super interesting, has a great premise, and also makes me wanna read the book without putting it down. A recommend for everyone!

Green: What’s a book that you haven’t read yet, but really want to?

Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton is high on my TBR list. I loved Crichton and have read some of his books, and I enjoyed the movies, I just never gotten round to reading the novels.

Pink: What’s a book in which you felt a strong connection to the characters?

A book I read quite some time ago was The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri, about an immigrant living in another country and having a family. As a minority living in someone else’s country, I can really connect to the characters in the book. Here’s my review of the book if you wanna find out more.

Purple: What’s a book that when you read it, you feel safe?

Harry Potter by JK Rowling is probably my safe answer. I just looove going back to the story and feeling at home.

Orange: What book do you feel is intelligently written?

The recent book that I absolutely loved is More Than This by Patrick Ness. It’s so filled with suspense and also action, but at the same time describes the characters and the settings really well. The plot is also super exciting. Read about me ranting on how much I loved it in my review here.22551523

Yellow: What book puts a smile on your face?

I really enjoyed reading a children’s book, The Cat Who Came In Off the Roof by Annie M.G. Schmidt. It’s a book about a journalist who befriends a cat who became a human, and it’s super fun and makes me smile when I read it on the train. Especially since I love cats so much!

 

Phew, so many questions! Let me know if you like the books I mentioned above, and if you don’t! Also feel free to do the tag if you want to. See you in my next post!

 bookdepository goodreads

13 comments

  1. Great answers! I haven’t read that Orwell book in particular, I’ll have to check that one out. Also like what you had to say about The Martian. I’ve only seen the movie (even if I knew it was a book before), and now I might have to visit it once I start to forget a bit more about the plot! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

